Jump to the beginning of content

Speech by the Secretary for Housing, Planning and Lands, Mr Michael Suen, at the Hong Kong Team's presentation at the 2005 World Sustainable Building Conference in Tokyo

Following is the speech by the Secretary for Housing, Planning and Lands, Mr Michael Suen, at the Hong Kong Team's presentation at the 2005 World Sustainable Building Conference in Tokyo today (September 27):

Distinguished guests, ladies and gentlemen,

On behalf of the Hong Kong Team, I would like to say how delighted we are to attend the 2005 World Sustainable Building Conference here in Tokyo and to be afforded the opportunity to make a presentation on sustainable buildings. We value the excellent platform provided by the conference for discussing and sharing experience on sustainable building policies and strategies as well as construction practices, advanced technologies, and assessment schemes.

We in Hong Kong are severely constrained by the lack of land for development. Land is only available at a premium and there is a natural tendency for high-rise development which makes sustainable development and sustainable buildings logical objectives to keep our city going. It is no exaggeration to suggest that our natural conditions almost ordain sustainable strategies in order to achieve better quality living environment, with more access to natural ventilation and lighting. These are of particular importance to a city with high urban density such as Hong Kong.

From the overall planning perspective, we are committed to formulating sustainable development strategies by guiding the use and development of land, facilitating suitable development and redevelopment, and encouraging community involvement and support.

For public facility developments, we take a holistic approach in considering the integration of the projects with the surrounding environment, and the conservation and efficient use of land, energy and material resources in design, procurement and maintenance.

We also provide affordable quality public housing for one third of our population. To keep pace with the rising aspirations of the community, we have successfully advanced new frontiers in the making of a green physical environment and green community for millions of people. Our policy on public housing clearly defines key environmental principles such as optimisation of use of resources and minimisation of environmental impact for our residents.

For private building developments, we encourage innovation and adoption of new technology and construction methods. To quote a couple of our initiatives, we provide incentives in the form of exemption of gross floor area and site coverage for the incorporation of environmentally friendly features in private building developments. We are also developing a building labelling scheme to gauge the sustainability performance of buildings in Hong Kong.

Our road towards sustainable buildings is made more durable as there is close collaboration at all levels between the Government and the private sector. With this collaborative spirit in striving towards a sustainable built environment, we hope to build a better future for the generations to come.

Today, we are going to use three new projects to share with you our experience in this regard in Hong Kong. The three presentations are: the Two International Finance Centre project presented by Dr Leonard Chow of the Asian Institute of Intelligent Buildings; the commercial development at Number One, Peking Road by Mr Kenneth Chan of the Professional Green Building Council; and the redevelopment of Upper Ngau Tau Kok public housing estate Phases 2 & 3 by Mr John Ng and Ms Ellen Ngan of the Hong Kong Housing Authority. The Honourable Professor Patrick Lau will conclude our presentation. Without further ado, I would like to hand over to Dr Leonard Law to present to you the first of these three case studies.

Thank you.

Ends/Tuesday, September 27, 2005
Issued at HKT 18:23

NNNN


Back.

跳至內容

房屋及規劃地政局局長孫明揚今日出席東京2005年世界可持續發展建築會議香港代表團介紹環節的致辭全文(譯文)

以下為房屋及規劃地政局局長孫明揚今日(九月二十七日)出席東京2005年世界可持續發展建築會議香港代表團介紹環節的致辭全文:(譯文)

各位來賓:

香港代表團對於有機會參與在東京舉行的2005年世界可持續發展建築會議,並且介紹香港的可持續發展建築,感到非常高興。我們十分重視今次會議,在會議提供的理想平台,我們得以討論可持續發展建築的政策和策略、建築方法、先進技術及評估制度,並互相交流經驗。

香港面對缺乏發展用地的大難題。由於土地資源非常珍貴,因此高樓大廈式的發展自然就成為趨勢,而可持續發展和可持續發展建築亦順理成章成為目標,讓東方之珠保持閃閃生輝。有一個說法十分中肯,就是香港基於天然條件,必須採用可持續發展的策略,居住環境才可以更為理想,增加天然光線之餘,亦加強空氣流通。香港是地狹人稠的城市,這點尤其重要。

我們從整體規劃的角度,銳意制定可持續發展的策略,指引土地的使用和發展、促進合適的發展和重建,並且推動市民參與和支持。

在發展公共設施方面,我們會作全面的考慮,務求有關項目配合四周的環境,同時在設計、採購和保養方面,能夠節約和善用土地、能源和物料。

香港有三分一的人口居於公屋。這些優質公屋都在居民負擔能力範圍之內。為滿足市民不斷提高的期望,我們成功開創新的領域,為萬千人口締造環保綠化的環境和社區。公屋的政策清晰界定重點環保原則,例如善用資源及盡量為居民減少受環境方面的影響。

關於私人樓宇的發展,我們鼓勵創意和鼓勵採用新的技術及建築方法。就讓我列舉其中一兩項措施:我們容許私人樓宇的環保構築無需計入建築樓面和上蓋面積,藉以提供誘因。此外,我們正在設計樓宇標籤制度,評估樓宇在可持續發展方面的成效。

基於政府和私人機構之間,在不同層次緊密合作,我們邁向可持續發展建築的路途比較鞏固持久。憑藉這種追求可持續發展居住環境的合作精神,我們希望為未來的世代締造更美好的將來。

我們今日會透過三個項目,與大家分享香港在這方面的經驗。第一個項目是國際金融中心第二期,由亞洲智能建築學會的周冠雄博士介紹;第二個項目為北京道一號的商業發展,由環保建築專業議會的陳佐堅先生介紹;第三個項目牛頭角上第二、三期公共屋,由香港房屋委員會的伍灼宜先生及顏嘉倩女士介紹。然後,劉秀成教授會總結我們的介紹。事不宜遲,現在就交由周冠雄博士向大家介紹三項個案研究的第一項。

多謝各位。

2005年9月27日(星期二)
香港時間18時21分


返回.