Jump to the beginning of content

LegCo : Special Finance Committee Meeting to examine the draft 2003-2004 Estimate of Expenditure - Speech by SETW under the policy area: works

Following is a speech by the Secretary for the Environment, Transport and Works, Dr Sarah Liao, under the policy area : Works, at the special meeting of the Finance Committee to examine the draft Estimates of Expenditure in 2003-2004 :

Mr Chairman,

I would like to start with a brief introduction to the work of our Works Branch and Works Departments before answering questions from Honourable Members.

Capital Works Programme

In 2002-03, we achieved good progress in the delivery of public works projects. As a result of the Administration's efforts in expediting public works and better internal coordination as well as less adverse weather conditions, some of the major projects have progressed faster than our original forecast. We estimate that we will spend about $29.2 Billion on the Capital Works Programme (CWP) in this financial year, which is 2.4% higher than the original estimate of $28.5 Billion.

The Government remains committed to keep up the momentum of its investment in public infrastructure. Over the five years from 2003-04 to 2007-08, we will set aside provision of $29 Billion per annum for public works projects. In 2003-04, the estimated expenditure will be slightly higher at about $31 Billion because some major infrastructure projects will commence in the coming year. Meanwhile, we will launch a pilot scheme to promote private sector participation in public work projects. We will prepare a list of leisure and cultural projects and invite proposals for private sector participation. The Home Affairs Bureau is now working on the details and will make an announcement shortly.

We will continue to streamline existing procedures so as to further cut short the pre-construction lead-time of public works projects. I introduced the Foreshore, Seabed and Roads (Amendment) Bill into the Legislative Council last month with a view to shortening the statutory period for raising and resolving public objections to road, reclamation, sewerage projects, etc. It is expected that the proposed amendments could accelerate our projects by six to nine months. I hope Honourable Members will support this proposal.

Excavation Permit Fees Charging Scheme

We have also introduced into the Legislative Council the Land (Miscellaneous Provisions) (Amendment) Bill 2002, which aims mainly at recovery of administrative cost in connection with the excavation permit system and imposition of economic cost on permittees who delay their excavation work without good reasons. We believe it is a fair scheme and regulation of street excavations can be greatly improved after the Bill is implemented. We hope Honourable Members will support the Bill.

Greening Hong Kong

For the coming year, we plan to plant about 15 million plants (including trees, shrubs and annuals), about 10 million of which will be planted in urban areas. A high-level Steering Committee on Greening, chaired by the Permanent Secretary of the Works Branch, has been set up to provide a steer on the overall strategy and to oversee the implementation of greening programmes. To enhance the effectiveness of our greening programmes, we will review the existing standards and guidelines. We will also enlist community support for greening activities and work with private organizations in promoting greening programmes in urban areas.

Construction Industry Review

We will continue to work in collaboration with the Provisional Construction Industry Co-ordination Board to pursue reform initiatives spanning across a broad range of areas such as employees' compensation insurance, management of subcontracting, skill development of workers, construction cost and performance indicators. So far, notable progress has been achieved on 95 recommendations made by the Construction Industry Review Committee. A progress report has been submitted to the Legislative Council. Furthermore, we will soon be ready to commence drafting a bill for introduction to the Legislative Council in the next session to pave way for the formation of the proposed Construction Industry Council.

Works Departments

Now, I would like to say a few words on the work of the Works Departments.

The Architectural Services Department will, in the next financial year, complete 13 new primary schools, 12 new secondary schools and 1 new special school. There are 37 schools under design and construction. The Department also plans to complete improvement works for 99 schools, and continue with the design and construction works for the remaining 215 schools under the School Improvement Programme. Currently, 17 leisure and cultural projects are under construction and the works for another 6 projects are scheduled for commencement in the next financial year. The Department will invite tenders for the Central Government Complex, Legislative Council Complex, Exhibition Gallery and Civic Place at Tamar, and construction will commence in early 2004.

In addition, the Department will pursue its re-engineering programme in a flexible and step-by-step manner. In order to strengthen the Department's professional role as Government's corporate adviser on public building development and maintenance matters, it will increase outsourcing of projects to the private sector and devolving most or even all of its maintenance activities to government departments and subvented organisations where applicable. The Department will maintain extensive consultation with staff on the details of the programme.

The Civil Engineering Department will continue to upgrade 250 government slopes and conduct safety screening on 300 private slopes per year under the 10-Year Extended Landslip Preventive Measures (LPM) Programme. The Department will also endeavour to landscape every slope upgraded under the LPM Programme. The Department has published a layman's guide on landscape treatment of slopes to assist private owners to improve the appearance of their slopes. The Department will also continue to implement the essential infrastructure for the development of Hong Kong Disneyland, which is scheduled for opening in 2005.

The Drainage Services Department will continue to implement extensive flood control and mitigation projects throughout the territory. Significant improvements have already been achieved in alleviating the flooding problem in the New Territories following the progressive completion of a number of major river training works in the past few years. The flooding problem in the New Territories will be further alleviated upon the substantial completion of the remaining river training works at Indus River, Kam Tin River and Ngau Tam Mei River in 2003. The only remaining regional flooding blackspot in Ta Kwu Ling will also be removed by 2006, upon the completion of the Shenzhen River Regulation Project Stage III and the training of the Ganges River. The drainage upgrading works in West Kowloon are in full swing with the critical works scheduled for completion in 2004. New drainage improvement projects costing about $500 million will start construction in 2003-04 to further improve our stormwater drainage infrastructure.

In 2002-03, the Electrical and Mechanical Services Trading Fund (EMSTF) has continued to achieve remarkable results. Despite the fact that all government departments and autonomous bodies could select their own E&M service providers in the market since August 2002, the performance of EMSTF has remained sound in terms of business and finance. The EMSTF will keep up its efforts to provide quality and competitive service by reducing its operating expenses and enhancing its efficiency.

The Highways Department is bringing forward a number of major highway projects. The construction of the section of Route 9 from Tsing Yi to Sha Tin commenced in phases in early 2002. The tendering of the Shenzhen Western Corridor, Deep Bay Link and widening of Yuen Long Highway are underway with works scheduled to commence in mid-2003. The Department is also implementing the essential public infrastructure works for new railways in the urban area as well as in the New Territories, including the Sheung Shui to Lok Ma Chau Spur Line, the West Rail, the Tsim Sha Tsui Extension and the Ma On Shan Rail of the East Rail.

The Territory Development Department will continue its efforts on land formation and infrastructure works for a number of major development areas. Construction works on Central Reclamation Phase III has just commenced early this month. Good progress has been achieved in the detailed design of the South East Kowloon Development and Wan Chai Development Phase II.

Fresh water is an indispensable element to our life. The Water Supplies Department will continue to extend the water supply system to meet future demands from new developments, and to replace and rehabilitate old water mains to maintain a reliable water supply. In view of decreasing local water resource per capita due to the increase in population, we have to devise a sustainable plan to ensure an adequate water supply which can meet our long-term demand. In the near future, we will implement trial schemes on desalination and reuse of treated effluent for non-potable purposes at the Cable Car project at Ngong Ping in Lantau.

WSD has achieved a 10% savings in recurrent expenditure with its efficiency and productivity improvement programme over the past three years. The Department will strive to achieve a further 1.8% savings in 2003-04.

Mr Chairman, I, as well as the Permanent Secretary and the Works Directors, will be pleased to answer any questions Honourable Members may have.

End/Tuesday, March 25, 2003

NNNN


Back.

跳至內容

立法會:2003-2004年度開支預算案特別財務委員會會議 - 環境運輸及工務局局長就工務部份致辭全文

以下是環境運輸及工務局局長廖秀冬博士於今日(三月二十五日)立法會財務委員會二○○三至二○○四年度開支預算案特別會議中就工務部份的致辭全文:

主席:

在答覆各位議員的提問之前,我首先扼要地介紹本局的工務科及轄下各個工務部門的主要工作。

基本工程計劃

在2002- 03年度,基本工程計劃進展良好。由於特區政府積極加快進行公共工程和加強內部協調,以及去年較少遇上惡劣天氣,一些大型工程的進度較預期理想。我們估計本財政年度在基本工程計劃方面的開支結算大約為292億元,較原來預算的285億元高出約2. 4% 。

展望未來,特區政府會致力維持基建投資。我們預計在2003- 04至2007- 08的五年內,每年平均預留大約290億元作基本工程計劃之用。由於在2003- 04年度多項大型工程計劃陸續展開,所以預計開支會較上述平均開支稍高,約為310億元。同時,我們將會推行一項試驗計劃以引進私營企業參與基建項目。我們會擬備一份文康設施項目的名單,以邀請私營企業提出參與發展的方案。民政事務局正統籌有關細節,詳情將於稍後公佈。

此外,我們會繼續簡化程序,進一步縮短施工前的籌備時間。我已於上月向立法會提交《前濱、海床及道路(修訂)條例草案》,以縮短就道路、填海及排污設備等工程計劃提出及處理反對意見的法定時間,使工程項目可加快六至九個月。我希望各位議員能支持這個建議。

挖掘准許證收費計劃

我們亦已向立法會提交《2002年土地(雜項條文) (修訂) 條例草案》,以期收回與挖掘准許證制度有關的行政成本,及向沒有合理原因而延遲完成掘路工程的持証人徵收經濟成本。我們相信這方案十分公平,當條例草案落實後,可以大大改善挖掘道路的規管。我希望各位議員支持該條例草案。

綠化香港

我們計劃在未來一年種植約一千五百萬棵植物(包括樹木,灌木和時花) ,其中約一千萬棵植物會在市區範圍內。本局負責工務的常任秘書長現正主持一個高層的綠化督導委員會,指導和監督香港整體的綠化計劃。為使綠化工作更具成效,我們會檢討現有綠化工作的標準及指引。我們亦會推動社區及市民大眾參予綠化工作,並會與私營機構合作,推廣市區綠化計劃。

建造業檢討

我們會繼續與臨時建造業統籌委員會手推動業界改革措施,包括僱員補償保險、管理工程分判、建造工人技能發展、建造成本及表現指標等。現時,我們已就95項建造業檢討委員會的建議取得顯著進展,並向立法會提供進度報告。此外,我們將展開法案草擬工作以便為建議成立的「建造業議會」提供法律依據。我們預計在下一個立法會會期內提交有關條例草案。

工務部門

現在,讓我談談各工務部門的工作。

在下一個財政年度,建築署將建成13間新小學,12間新中學及1間新特殊學校。現正設計和興建的學校共有37間。建築署亦打算按照學校改善計劃,完成99間學校的改善工程,並繼續進行餘下215間學校改善計劃的設計和建造工程。目前,17項康樂及文化設施的建造工程正在進行,另有6項將於下一個財政年度動工。我們亦會在添馬艦舊址建造政府總部、立法會大樓、展覽館和文娛用地的工程進行招標,建造工程預計在二零零四年年初展開。

此外,建築署會採用靈活及循序漸進的方式推展「資源重整計劃」。為了加強建築署的專業顧問角色及就政府建築物的發展及維修事宜提供專家意見,該署會把更多工程外判給私營機構,並會在適當的情況下把大部分甚至全部的維修保養工作交由政府部門及資助機構自行負責。建築署將繼續就該計劃各方面的細節廣泛諮詢員工的意見。

土木工程署會繼續推行為期10年的「防止山泥傾瀉擴大計劃」,每年鞏固250個政府斜坡及對300個私人斜坡進行安全篩選,並美化所有根據防止山泥傾瀉計劃加以鞏固的斜坡。該署已製作一份美化斜坡簡易指南,以協助私人斜坡業主改善其斜坡的外觀。為配合計劃在2005年開幕的香港迪士尼樂園,該署亦會繼續積極進行各項的相關基建項目。

渠務署會繼續在全港實施大規模的防洪工程。過去數年,隨著新界多條主要河道的治理工程的完成,水浸情況已獲得顯著紓緩。梧桐河、錦田河和牛潭尾河餘下的治理工程預計於本年全部完成,屆時新界的水浸情況將會進一步改善。當深圳河第III期治理工程及平原河修復計劃於2006年完成後,新界最後一個區域性水浸黑點─打鼓嶺─亦將會消失。另一方面,西九龍雨水渠改善工程正全速進行,關鍵的工程項目將於2004年完成。在2003- 04年度,新動工的雨水排放改善工程總值將達5億元,這些工程完成後可進一步改善本港的雨水排放基本設施。

機電工程營運基金在2002- 03年度繼續取得佳績。雖然自2002年8月起,所有政府部門和公營機構均可在市場上自由揀選機電服務供應商,但營運基金的業務和財政仍能保持穩定。展望將來,營運基金仍會竭盡所能,致力減低運作開支,改善工作效率,以提供更優質和具競爭力的服務。

路政署現正進行多項大型公路項目。由青衣至沙田的九號幹線已於2002年初分階段動工,深圳西部通道、后海灣幹線以及元朗公路擴闊工程的招標工作亦正在進行中,工程預計在2003年中展開。同時,路政署亦正為市區和新界數條新鐵路線(包括上水落馬洲支線、西鐵及尖沙咀和馬鞍山東鐵支線) 興建主要的基建工程。

拓展署會繼續致力為主要發展區開拓土地和進行基礎設施工程。中環填海計劃第III期的建造工程剛於本年三月展開,而東南九龍發展計劃及灣仔發展計劃第II期的詳細設計工作亦進展順利。

食水是我們生活不可缺少的元素,水務署會繼續擴建供水系統,以配合新發展地區的用水需求,並會繼續更換和修復舊水管,以維持穩妥可靠的供水。由於人口不斷增加,本地的人均水資源相應不斷下降。因此,水務署將會訂定一個可持續的水資源管理計劃,以確保有足夠的水源,滿足我們長遠的用水需求。短期內我們會推行海水化淡的試驗計劃,並在大嶼山昂坪的吊車站試行循環再用廢水作非飲用的用途上。

過去三年,水務署已透過推行改善效率及生產力的計劃節省了10% 部門的經常開支。水務署會繼續努力,務求在二零零三至零四年度再節省1. 8% 開支。

主席,各位議員如有任何提問,我、常任秘書長和在座各位工務部門首長均會樂意答覆。

二○○三年三月二十五日(星期二)


返回.