Jump to the beginning of content

An Introduction

Welcome to the Section of "Standardised Components and Practices".  This is a one-stop service to help you access and locate those standardised components and modular components that have been successfully used in construction, and find out the standardised practices, including standard designs, construction methods, and techniques adopted in the construction industry.  This section contains a standardisation database of hyperlinks which promotes the wider use of standardised and modular components in local construction, with the public sector taking the lead. 

The search function will lead you to the specific piece of information contained in the websites of construction works related departments through our standardisation database of hyperlinks.

For standardised components or modular components you may find for instance"standard precast concrete profile barrier" in the standard drawings, and "precast concrete units" in the prefabrication system.

For the standardised practices, you may find the general specifications, model specifications, construction standards, codes of practice, practice notes, design manuals, guidelines and information papers. It saves you time to do all the searching across the various websites, and gives you good reference to start with your component design and processes. You may wish to modify and adapt it for your own purpose (of course at your own risk).

Our target users are the stakeholders in the construction industry. They include developers, professionals like engineers, architects and designers, academics, consultants, contractors, suppliers, and manufacturers.


You find below some examples of standardised and modular components, and standard practices of individual departments, which is linked from here in this section:

Architectural Services Department

Buildings Department

Civil Engineering and Development Department

Drainage Services Department

Highways Department

Housing Department

Water Supplies Department


Wider use of standardisation in component design and processes

Standardisation is the extensive use of components, methods or processes in which there is regularity, repetition and a background of successful practice (e.g. standardisation of the dimensions of components such as doors and windows, uniform standards for certain common materials such as steel and concrete, etc.). The construction industry can improve its efficiency through wider use of components of standardised dimensions and standardised processes.

Standardisation of components brings many benefits, including reduction in manufacturing costs; fewer interface and tolerance problems, thus better quality of the end product; greater certainty over outcomes; more efficient research and development of components; reduced maintenance cost for end-users; reduced waste and more scope for recycling. To maximise these benefits, we need to factor in the use of standardised components at the design stage to ensure compatibility in design and to facilitate the manufacturing process. The industry will also need to act together in order to achieve the necessary economy of scale.

Similarly, the industry should devote more effort to aligning and rationalising their current processes and practices so as to achieve more efficient operation and to reduce implementation efforts. Standardised processes and practices provide much greater predictability about what is performed, by whom, how and when and the possible outcomes. Wide adoption of standardised processes and practices across the industry would facilitate integration among industry participants, minimise development efforts, promote learning sharing and, provide a sound basis for the wider use of IT in local construction.

It is observed that prefabrication, coupled with the use of standardised and modular components, will contribute to improved buildability and associated efficiency gains. Prefabrication in a factory environment offers much better quality control to meet required quality standards. There is less wastage because of mass production and fewer defective products under a repetitive process. Repetition of component production and assembly also allows the team to build up speed and to achieve economy of scale. By reducing the amount of wet trade work on construction sites, prefabrication makes sites cleaner and tidier. This would in turn contribute to better site safety performance.

Another benefit is the reduction of construction waste generation. The wider adoption of a manufacturing approach to construction through the use of metal formwork, prefabrication, and standardised and modular components would minimise the extent of wet trade work to be carried out on site and the waste generated by such activities. It will also save the charges for waste disposal facilities (such as landfills) to encourage contractors to look for more economic and environmentally friendly means to handle construction waste.

跳至內容

引言

歡迎大家瀏覽“標準構件與作業方式”。設置本欄的目的,是要為大家提供一站式服務,方便搜尋已成功應用於建築工程上的標準構件和組合式構件,以及明瞭業內標準的作業方式,包括標準設計、建築方法和建造業所採用的技術。本欄載有不少超文本連結,可連接到有關標準構件和作業方式的資料;我們希望透過這些資料,並由公營機構樹立榜樣,推動本地建造業更廣泛地採用標準化和組合式的構件。

另外,各位可使用本欄的搜尋功能,透過本欄的超文本連結,尋找載於相關部門網站的標準化資料。

就以標準構件或組合式構件為例,各位可在標準圖則的類別找到“標準預製混凝土縱向護欄”的資料,並在預製組件的類別找到“預製混凝土組件”的資料。

至於標準作業模式,各位可找到一般規格、型號規格、建築標準、作業守則、作業備考、設計手冊、指引及資料文件等。因此,利用本欄,各位可節省搜尋各個不同網站所需的時間,並掌握足夠的資料,以展開建築構件的設計工作和其他相關工序。當然,大家亦可靈活變通,按本身的需要加以修改,但其後果則須自負。

我們預計本欄的使用者主要是與建造業有關的人士,當中包括發展商、專業人士(例如工程師、建築師及設計師等)、學者、顧問、承建商和製造商。


從這裏可連結到個別政府部門的標準化及單元式構件組合,以及標準常規的一些例子︰

建築署

屋宇署

土木工程拓展署

渠務署

路政署

房屋署

水務署


廣泛採用標準化構件設計和標準化工序

標準化是參照成功的例子,廣泛使用規律化、設計相同的建築構件、方法或程序(例如︰某些構件(如門和窗)採用標準尺寸,某些常用建造物料(如鋼鐵和混凝土)採用劃一標準等)。建造業廣泛使用標準化的構件和程序,可大為提高效率。

採用標準化構件會帶來很多好處,其中包括減低製造成本;構件較少產生銜接和誤差問題,使建成品的質素提高;更能確定成果;可更有效地研究和開發建築構件;為最終使用者減低保養成本;減少廢物,而構件亦可循環再用。為盡量取得上述效果,我們須早在設計階段考慮採用標準化構件,以配合設計及方便生產。業界人士亦須合作推行標準化的做法,務求取得所需的規模經濟效益。

同樣,業界應多加努力,使目前的施工流程及作業方法更趨一致和簡化,以期工程的推展更為順利和有效率。劃一化的程序及作業方法,可協助有關人士掌握所須進行的工作,了解如何分工、如何及何時進行有關工作,以及預知效果。業界廣泛採用劃一化的程序及作業方法,亦有助業內人士互相配合、減省開發方面的人力物力、推廣知識分享,以及為本地建造業更廣泛使用資訊科技,提供良好的基礎。

預製技術加上標準化及組合式的建築構件,會有助提高建築效益和效率。在廠房內預製構件,可更有效地進行品質控制,達到指定的質素標準。由於大量生產,可減少浪費物料,而透過重複工序生產的製成品,亦會較少瑕疪。此外,重複進行的構件生產和製配工序,令生產隊伍加快生產速度,並取得規模經濟效益。採用預製技術可減少在建築工地的濕水施工情況,令工地更整潔,從而有助提高工地安全。

採用預製構件的另一優點,是減少製造廢物。廣泛採用金屬模板、預製技術以及標準化和組合式的建築構件,亦有助減少工地濕水施工的情況,並且減低這些活動所產生的廢料。此外,承建商亦可節省廢物處置設施(如堆填區)的使用費,因而積極尋求以更合乎經濟和環保效益的方法處理建築廢料。