Jump to the beginning of content

LCQ7: Incidents of water mains burst

Following is a question by the Dr Hon Junius Ho and a written reply by the Secretary for Development, Mr Michael Wong, in the Legislative Council today (July 5):

Question:

The Water Supplies Department (WSD) commenced the Replacement and Rehabilitation Programme of Water Mains (the Programme) in 2000 to replace and rehabilitate about 3 000 kilometres of aged water mains in phases. Although the Programme was substantially completed in December 2015, incidents of water mains burst have still occurred in Hong Kong from time to time in recent months (the incident locations included Wu Chui Road near Mei Lok Lane, Tuen Mun; Connaught Road West near Water Street, Western District; Tsuen Wan section of Castle Peak Road, Tsuen Wan; and Kwun Tong Road eastbound off Kai Yip Estate), causing traffic congestion and serious nuisance to the daily lives of the residents in the vicinity. In this connection, will the Government inform this Council:

(1) of the number of reports of water main burst received by the WSD since the beginning of this year (with a breakdown by District Council district);

(2) (i) of the total volume in cubic metres of fresh water lost during incidents of water mains burst, and the value of fresh water lost as calculated by its unit cost; and (ii) whether the authorities have assessed other relevant economic losses incurred due to water mains burst, since the beginning of this year; if so, of the outcome; if not, the reasons for that;

(3) of the details of the latest notification mechanism adopted by the WSD for handling incidents of water mains burst; and

(4) as the authorities have indicated that they will, following the completion of the Programme, progressively establish the Water Intelligent Network to continuously monitor the conditions of the water supply network, and will, prior to the completion of this work, commission a consultant to undertake the relevant investigations and design work for reprovisioning in phases those aged water mains that are susceptible to failure during the transitional period, of the progress of such work; how the authorities assess the conditions of the water mains and their probability of burst, so as to reduce the occurrence of incidents of water mains burst?

Reply:

President,

Given the hilly terrain of Hong Kong, the water pressure of our water supply networks generally ranges from 60 to 80 metres, higher than the 40 metres or so of Singapore and other places by a margin of 50 per cent to 100 per cent. High water pressure increases the risk of water mains bursts. The ageing of some water mains and disturbances to underground water mains caused by frequent roadworks, ground settlement, external loading and vibration also further exacerbate the risk of bursting.

To tackle the problem of ageing water mains, the Water Supplies Department (WSD) launched the Replacement and Rehabilitation Programme of Water Mains (the Programme) in 2000 to replace and rehabilitate about 3 000 kilometres of aged water mains in the territory. Following the substantial completion of the Programme at the end of 2015, the condition of the water supply networks has improved significantly. The number of water main burst incidents in Hong Kong also fell sharply, from about 2 500 cases in 2000 to some 170, 150 and 120 cases in 2014, 2015 and 2016 respectively. However, there are water mains that are not covered by the Programme but have become aged or worn out at present. Therefore, incidents of water main burst may continue to occur.

The WSD considers that another large-scale replacement and rehabilitation project modelled on the Programme is not the best way forward as it would entail high project costs. There are also associated social costs, such as traffic congestion caused by the works, that should not be overlooked. Riding on the technological advancements in the fields of sensors, telemetry, network management software and data analysis in recent years, the WSD is progressively implementing the Water Intelligent Network (WIN) to maintain the health of water distribution networks. Under the WIN project, the water distribution networks of Hong Kong will be divided into some 2 000 discrete District Metering Areas (DMAs) of manageable size, with monitoring and sensing equipment installed in the distribution network of each DMA. Pressure management will also be implemented in some areas, where feasible, to maintain a proper balance between stability of water supply and pressure of the water supply network. The WSD is also preparing to establish an intelligent network management computer system for analysing the tremendous amount of data collected from the DMAs in order to formulate the most effective network management measures and their respective priorities for individual DMAs. As at March this year, we have set up around 1 000 DMAs. We expect that the whole WIN will be put in place in five years' time.

Before the WIN comes into full operation, the WSD will deal with the aged water mains at high risk in a timely manner, such as reprovisioning these water mains in a risk-based approach, to maintain the health of the networks.

My reply to the four parts of the Dr Hon Junius Ho's question is as follows:

(1) The WSD has received a total of 36 water main burst reports between January and May this year. The following table shows a breakdown of the reports by District Council (DC) district:

No. of water main burst incidents that occurred
between January and May 2017
Central & Western District 1 Yau Tsim Mong 2
Eastern District 9 North District 0
Islands 1 Sai Kung 0
Southern District 0 Sha Tin 2
Wan Chai 3 Tai Po 3
Kowloon City 1 Kwai Tsing 5
Kwun Tong 1 Tuen Mun 4
Sham Shui Po 0 Tsuen Wan 2
Wong Tai Sin 1 Yuen Long 1

(2) The quantity of fresh water discharged as a result of fresh water main bursts between January and May this year accounted for less than 0.01 per cent of the fresh water supply over the same period. As mentioned above, the causes for water main bursts include high water pressure, ageing of water mains and other external factors. Therefore, water main burst should be regarded as an operational constraint instead of an economic loss.
 
However, the WSD understands that water main burst may cause nuisance to nearby residents. Hence, it will take appropriate measures to mitigate the resultant impact of each water main burst incident on the public. Upon receipt of a water main burst report, the WSD will release information about the incident and related emergency suspension of water supply as soon as possible. For cases involving fresh water, it will liaise with the DC members of the district or the management office concerned to identify suitable locations for the installation of temporary standpipes, water wagons or water tanks to provide emergency temporary water supply to affected customers. In addition, the WSD will co-ordinate with the Police to draw up temporary traffic arrangements to reduce the impact of water main burst on traffic. Under exceptional circumstances, the WSD will carry out immediate repair works for damaged road surface and reopen the road concerned while repair works for the burst water main will be scheduled for off-peak hours.
 
(3) Upon receipt of a water main burst report, the WSD will immediately deploy frontline staff to the site to turn off the relevant valve in order to isolate the defective section of water main for emergency repair. Details of the emergency suspension of water supply, including the water supply type, duration of suspension, affected areas, temporary fresh water supply arrangements, etc., will be released through the website and the mobile application, WSD Mobile App, to keep the affected public informed about the arrangements. The WSD mobile application has been updated since October 2016 to subdivide the concerned areas to be selected by the public from the 18 districts in the past to the 431 DC constituency areas over the territories, enabling members of the public to get hold of more accurate and latest information about the suspension of water supply. Members of the public may also call the WSD Enquiry Hotline for information about the emergency suspension of water supply. For particular groups of customers (such as hospitals), the WSD will contact them individually to enable them to implement emergency contingency measures as soon as possible.
 
(4) In a risk-based assessment exercise for all the water mains in the territory at the end of 2016, the WSD identified over 40 kilometres of water mains rated at high risk and requiring reprovisioning. The design work for reprovisioning of over 30 kilometres of these high risk water mains has been completed. A tender exercise for the works will be conducted within the year. As for the remaining 11 kilometres or so of these water mains, the WSD has also commissioned engineering consultants to carry out the design work.
 
The WSD would take into account a number of factors when assessing the condition and burst probability of water mains. They include water mains materials, years of service and past records of burst and leakage. With the progressive implementation of the WIN and by analysing the water flow and pressure data collected from the monitoring and sensing equipment installed at each DMA with an intelligent network management computer system, the WSD will assess the conditions of the water distribution networks and formulate appropriate network management measures to reduce the occurrence of water main burst.
 

Ends/Wednesday, July 5, 2017
Issued at HKT 12:00

NNNN


Back.

跳至內容

立法會七題:水管爆裂事故

以下是今日(七月五日)在立法會會議上何君堯議員的提問和發展局局長黃偉綸的書面答覆:

問題:

水務署在二○○○年展開更換及修復水管計劃(「修復計劃」),分階段更換和修復長約3 000公里的老化水管。雖然修復計劃在二○一五年十二月已大致完成,但本港近月仍不時發生水管爆裂事故(事發地點包括屯門湖翠路近美樂里、西環干諾道西近水街、荃灣青山公路荃灣段及觀塘道東行近啟業邨對開),造成區內交通擠塞和嚴重滋擾附近居民的日常生活。就此,政府可否告知本會:

(一)本年初至今,水務署接獲多少宗水管爆裂的報告(並按區議會分區列出分項數字);

(二)本年初至今,(i)食水管爆裂事故期間共有多少立方米的食水流失,以及流失食水按單位成本計算的價值及(ii)當局有否評估因水管爆裂而引致其他相關的經濟損失;若有評估,結果為何;若否,原因為何;

(三)水務署處理水管爆裂事故最新的通報機制的詳情為何;及

(四)鑑於當局曾表示在修復計劃後會逐步建立「智管網」,持續監察供水網絡的狀況,而在此項工作完成前會委聘顧問公司進行相關勘查研究及設計工作,分階段重置在過渡期內較易出現故障的老化水管,該等工作的進展為何;當局如何評估水管狀況及出現爆裂的機會率,以減少發生水管爆裂事故?

答覆:

主席:

香港山多,供水管網的水壓一般介乎60米至80米,較其他地區例如新加坡約40米水壓高約50%至一倍。高水壓會令水管爆裂機會增加,加上部分水管出現老化,以及道路工程頻繁、土地沉降、外來壓力和震動等因素對地下水管造成干擾,也會引致水管爆裂。

針對水管老化問題,水務署自二○○○年起展開「更換及修復水管計劃」(計劃),更換及修復全港大約3 000公里的老化水管。計劃已於二○一五年底大致完成,供水管網的健康狀況大為改善,整體水管爆裂個案亦大幅減少,由二○○○年約2 500宗減至二○一四年、二○一五年及二○一六年分別約170宗、150宗及120宗。然而,計劃在制定時未涵蓋的水管於現時或已老化和耗損,所以仍會出現水管爆裂的情況。

水務署認為如之前計劃般再大規模更換或修復水管並非最佳選擇,因為除了工程成本高昂外,相關的社會成本如工程導致的交通阻塞,亦不容忽視。隨着近年感應器、遙測、管網管理軟件及數據分析的科技進步,水務署現正逐步建立「智管網」,以維持管網的健康。「智管網」計劃將本港的供水管網分成約2 000個大小易於管理的獨立監測區域,每個區域的管網內均安裝監測和感應設備,並在一些可行的區域進行水壓管理,平衡供水穩定及管網的水壓。水務署亦正籌備設立一套智能管網管理電腦系統,用作分析從各監測區域收集的大量數據,以便訂定處理各監測區域最有效的管網管理措施及其優先次序。截至今年三月,我們已設立約1 000個監測區域。我們期望於五年內完成整個「智管網」。

另外,水務署亦會在「智管網」全面推行前,適時處理高風險的老化水管,包括以風險為本方式重置高風險水管,以維持管網的健康。

就何君堯議員問題的四個部分,現答覆如下:

(一)今年一月至五月,水務署共接獲36宗水管爆裂報告。各區議會分區的分項數字表列如下:

二○一七年一月至五月發生的水管爆裂事故宗數
中西區 1 油尖旺 2
東區 9 北區 0
離島 1 西貢 0
南區 0 沙田 2
灣仔 3 大埔 3
九龍城 1 葵青 5
觀塘 1 屯門 4
深水埗 0 荃灣 2
黃大仙 1 元朗 1

(二)今年一月至五月,因食水管爆裂而排走的食水量,少於同期食水供水量的0.01%。正如上文所述,水管爆裂的原因包括高水壓、水管老化及其他外在因素。因此,水管爆裂應視為一種運作限制而非經濟損失。

然而,水務署明白到水管爆裂可能會對附近居民造成滋擾。因此,水務署會採取適當措施以減少每宗水管爆裂事故對市民的影響。當收到水管爆裂報告後,水務署會盡快發布水管爆裂及緊急停水的資料,若是食水個案,該署會與當區區議員或管理處商討合適位置設置臨時街喉、水箱或水車,為受影響的用戶提供緊急臨時食水供應。另外,水務署會與警方協調以制定臨時交通安排,以減少水管爆裂對交通造成的影響。如遇上特別情況,水務署會立刻維修損毀的路面,重新開放有關道路,並安排於非繁忙時間維修爆裂的水管。

(三)當收到水管爆裂報告後,水務署會立刻安排前線人員到現場關閉有關水掣以隔離損壞的水管,並進行搶修。水務署會透過網頁及流動應用程式WSD Mobile App盡快發布有關緊急停水的資料,包括供水類別、停水時間、受影響範圍及臨時食水供應安排等,讓受影響的市民知悉有關安排。自二○一六年十月起,水務署的流動應用程式已經更新,市民可選取的關注地點由過往的全港18區細分為431個區議會選區,讓市民可更準確掌握最新停水資訊。另外,市民亦可致電水務署客戶諮詢熱線查詢緊急停水事宜。針對一些特別用戶(如醫院等),水務署會個別聯絡,讓他們能盡早實施緊急應變措施。

(四)在二○一六年底,水務署為全港水管進行了一次以風險為本的評估,約40多公里水管被評定為高風險,需要重置。當中30多公里水管的重置工程已完成設計,並會於年內為工程進行招標。至於餘下約11公里的水管,水務署已聘請工程顧問進行設計。

就評估水管狀況及爆裂的機會率,水務署會考慮不同因素,包括水管物料、已使用年期及過往的爆裂及滲漏紀錄等。隨着「智管網」逐步建立,水務署會利用安裝在每個監測區域的監測和感應設備收集有關流量及水壓的數據,並將利用智能管網管理電腦系統進行分析,以評估供水管網狀況,制定合適的管網管理措施,減低水管爆裂的機會。
 

2017年7月5日(星期三)
香港時間12時00分


返回.