Jump to the beginning of content

LCQ17: Land resumption by Government for redevelopment projects implemented by Urban Renewal Authority

Following is a question by the Hon Hui Chi-fung and a written reply by the Secretary for Development, Mr Eric Ma, in the Legislative Council today (June 21):

Question:

At present, in the event that the Urban Renewal Authority (URA) cannot reach agreements on acquisition of property titles with the owners of properties in a redevelopment project area due to issues such as acquisition prices and vesting of titles, it may, under the Urban Renewal Authority Ordinance (Cap. 563), apply to the Government for resumption by the Government, under the Lands Resumption Ordinance (Cap. 124), of those property titles which have not been acquired so that those titles would revert to the Government.  In this connection, will the Government inform this Council:

 (1) whether it knows URA's criteria for deciding whether or not to make an application to the Government for compulsory resumption of property titles; whether such criteria include the successful acquisition of no less than a certain percentage of the property titles within the redevelopment project area; and

 (2) of the following details of the redevelopment projects in respect of which URA's applications for compulsory resumption of property titles were approved in the past five years: (i) the project name, (ii) site area, (iii) the number of property titles compulsorily resumed, and (iv) the amount of public expenditure incurred for making compensation or ex-gratia payments to the property owners whose property titles were compulsorily resumed?

Reply:

President,

After consulting the Urban Renewal Authority (URA) and the Lands Department (LandsD), my reply to the two-part question is as follows:

(1) Under section 29 of the Urban Renewal Authority Ordinance (URAO), the URA may make an application to the Secretary for Development (SDEV) requesting the Government to make recommendation to the Chief Executive in Council for the resumption of land required for the implementation of the URA's redevelopment projects pursuant to the Lands Resumption Ordinance (LRO). Generally speaking, land resumption shall cover the entire lot, including the private titles to the affected land which have been transferred to the URA, in order to extinguish all and any rights and interests in the land concerned which include those illegal occupiers of the common areas of the buildings on that land.

Even though the URA can apply for resumption of land for redevelopment pursuant to the URAO, for every development project, it will always make best efforts to make acquisition offers to the owners concerned through negotiation for acquiring their property titles before land resumption by the Government. The percentage of successful acquisition through negotiation depends on a number of factors, such as owners' preference, market situation, location of the project, distribution of ownership, how the property is occupied, problem of title defects and proportion of untraceable owners, etc. Therefore, it is difficult to give a general percentage in this regard. Neither the URAO nor the LRO have laid down a fixed percentage by which property titles must be acquired by the URA through negotiation. When the URA considers that its acquisition exercise has entered a mature stage and it is difficult to make further acquisition, it will request the SDEV to initiate the process and consider putting up a proposal to the Chief Executive in Council for resuming the land necessary for the relevant redevelopment project pursuant to the LRO. This will ensure acquisition of all the titles for early commencement of rehousing and redevelopment.

After consideration, if the SDEV decides to invoke the URAO to recommend land resumption to the Chief Executive in Council and an approval has been given, the LandsD will offer relevant compensation to the affected persons in compliance with the LRO. If an agreement cannot be reached on the amount of compensation, the person affected may refer the case to the Lands Tribunal for determination. The amount determined by the Lands Tribunal shall be binding on the claimant and the Government. Therefore, the rights of the affected persons to compensation when their properties are resumed are protected under the law.

(2) Over the past five financial years, a total of 19 projects requiring land resumption approved by the Chief Executive in Council have been commenced by the URA in different districts. Please see the attached Table for details.

Ends/Wednesday, June 21, 2017
Issued at HKT 15:00

NNNN


Back.

跳至內容

立法會十七題:政府為市區重建局推行的重建項目收回土地

以下是今日(六月二十一日)在立法會會議上許智峯議員的提問和發展局局長馬紹祥的書面答覆:

問題:

現時,市區重建局(市建局)若因收購價格和業權歸屬等問題而未能與重建項目範圍內物業的業主達成收購業權協議,可根據《市區重建局條例》(第563章)向政府提出申請,由政府根據《收回土地條例》(第124章)收回未收購的業權以復歸政府所有。就此,政府可否告知本會:

(一)是否知悉,市建局用以決定是否向政府提出強制收回業權申請的準則;該等準則是否包括已成功收購重建發展項目範圍內不低於某個百分比的業權;及

(二)過去五年,市建局所提強制收回業權申請獲批准的重建項目的以下詳情:(i)項目名稱、(ii)土地面積、(iii)強制收回多少個業權,以及(iv)向遭強制收回業權的業主發放的補償或特惠津貼所涉的公帑開支金額為何?

答覆:

主席:

就問題的兩個部分,經諮詢市區重建局(市建局)及地政總署後,現回覆如下:

(一)根據《市區重建局條例》第29條的規定,市建局可向發展局局長提出申請,要求局長向行政長官會同行政會議建議,根據《收回土地條例》收回市建局為進行有關重建項目所需的土地。一般而言,整個地段包括在受影響土地上已轉讓予市建局的私人擁有業權須予以收回,以終絕所有及任何在相關土地上的權利和權益,包括該土地內樓宇公用地方的非法佔用人的權利和權益。

儘管市建局可根據《市區重建局條例》為進行重建而申請收回土地,但市建局在推行每個發展項目時,都會於政府收地前以協商方式盡力向業主提出收購其物業業權。透過協商方式而成功收購業權的比例會因應多項因素而有所不同,例如業主取態、市場狀況、項目地點、業權擁有及分布情況、佔用情況、物業業權欠妥問題或失聯業主比例等,故難以一概而論。《市區重建局條例》及《收回土地條例》並無就市建局以協商方式收購業權訂下任何硬性的百份比。當市建局認為其收購工作已進入成熟階段及難以作進一步收購,市建局便會要求發展局局長啟動程序,考慮向行政長官會同行政會議建議,根據《收回土地條例》收回有關重建項目所需的土地,以確保集合所有業權,盡早展開遷置及重建工作。

如局長經考慮後決定引用《市區重建局條例》向行政長官會同行政會議建議收回有關土地並獲得批准,地政總署將會向受影響人士作出相關補償,以符合《收回土地條例》的要求。如雙方未能就補償金額達成協議,受影響人士可向土地審裁處申請裁定其補償額。土地審裁處判定的數額對申索人及政府均具約束力。因此,受影響人士在物業被收回的補償權利是依法得到保障。

(二)過去五個財政年度,市建局在各區已開展、並獲行政長官會同行政會議批准收地的項目共有19個,有關詳細資料見附表。

2017年6月21日(星期三)
香港時間15時00分


返回.