Jump to the beginning of content

If we could walk back in time to the early 19th Century, we could hardly imagine that the sparsely populated area along the northern shore of Hong Kong Island, in front of the steep hills and facing a beautiful deepwater harbour, would one day be transformed into the heart of Asia's world city.

When the colony was founded in 1841, the area now known as "Central" was then known as "Victoria City". The area was first chosen to house the city's major military facilities and administration centre. Shortly after came traders and missionaries. Over the years, Central developed into a rendezvous point for people from all walks of life. The dynamic growth of Central was made possible by rounds of development, renewal and reclamation work. Roads and railways were built to link Central efficiently to other parts of the city and the international airport.

In less than 200 years, Central has witnessed the transformation of Hong Kong from a fishing village into an entrepot; from a manufacturing centre into a services hub; and, more recently into today's modern metropolis and global financial centre. In that time, Central has evolved as the political, legal, military, business, financial, educational, cultural, tourism, religious and lifestyle heart and gateway of Hong Kong. Today, Central is the administrative centre of Hong Kong and home to many international and Mainland financial and business corporations. While myriad fascinating new high-rise buildings have been constructed over time, numerous examples of original architecture remain preserved within the cityscape. All of this has been fused and distilled into the distinct Central we see today.

After more than a century of impressive development, we are now at a crossroads and need to rethink how to take Central to even grander and newer heights. We need to sustain the growth that has been part of the formula for Hong Kong's success. At the same time, we must adequately conserve for future generations the invaluable heritage that makes us special so that our descendants will be proud of the legacy we have left.

Following the concept of "Progressive Development", as well as building on the Government's commitments on harbourfront enhancement and heritage conservation, and championing more greening and connectivity, we have put together a series of innovative projects that will help to reinvigorate the legend of Central.

PowerPoint Presentation material on "Conserving Central" (Chinese version only)

Pamphlet on "Conserving Central"

Video Recording for Briefing on "Conserving Central"

跳至內容

19世紀初的時空,我們將難以想像當日人煙稀少,背靠群山峻嶺,面向天然海港的香港島北岸一片狹窄土地,將會成為亞洲國際都會的核心地帶。

當香港於1841年成為殖民地時,現稱「中環」的一帶曾被稱為「維多利亞城」。發展首先由軍事設施和行政中心開始,緊接而來的是商人和傳教士,而中環亦日漸發展為各行各業人士的聚合點。透過多次的發展、重建和填海工程,中環得以不斷成長壯大。完善的公路和鐵路網絡將中環聯繫到城市的每一角落,以及我們的國際機場。

中環不足二百年的歷史,見證香港的高速發展,由小漁村開發成轉口港,由製造業中心轉變成服務業中心,以至今日的國際大都會和環球金融中心。中環在香港的發展過程中一直擔當政治、法律、軍事、商業、金融、教育、文化、旅遊、宗教和生活的心臟和樞紐。今日的中環,是香港的行政中心和眾多國際及內地金融和商業機構的所在地。儘管眾多奪目的高樓大廈不斷落成,不少昔日的建築和特色仍獲得保留,這一切融合和演變成為我們今日獨一無二的中環風格。

經過超過一個世紀的驚人發展,我們現正站在十字路口,需要思考如何將中環帶往更高的台階。持續發展經濟一直是香港賴以成功的因素,我們需要繼續為發展鋪路,但與此同時我們亦要為子孫後裔適當保育我們珍貴和獨特的文物遺產,使我們的下一代能為我們留給他們的一切感到自豪。

依照「進步發展觀」的概念,秉承政府對優化海濱和保育文物的承諾,並倡議增加綠化和連系,我們集合了一系列饒富創意的項目,以延續中環的傳奇。

"保育中環"的電腦投影片簡介資料

"保育中環"小冊子

"保育中環"簡介會錄影