Jump to the beginning of content

| Brief History |
Located in the heart of SoHo between Hollywood Road and Staunton Street and beside the Dr Sun Yat-sen Heritage Trail, this former Police Married Quarters (PMQ) comprising two quarters blocks and an ancillary Junior Police Call Clubhouse building built in 1951, is also sit on the underground remains of the former Central School. Built in 1889, the Central School was the first Government school to provide upper primary and secondary Western education to the public which marked a new phase in the development of public education in Hong Kong.

The school was severely damaged during World War II and was demolished in 1948 to make way for the building of the PMQ. The PMQ was the first police quarters to provide accommodation for married rank and file officers, including Chinese, to enhance the morale of junior police officers.


| Architectural Interest |
Architecturally, the design of the three PMQ buildings reflects the architecture of the modern movement. The direct fulfillment of functional requirement, construction and choice of materials of these Grade 3 buildings reflect the architecture of the age.


| Proposed Use |
The former PMQ on Hollywood Road will be transformed into a creative industries landmark. Following an open invitation and a competitive selection process, the proposal submitted by the Musketeers Education and Culture Charitable Foundation Limited (a non-profit making organisation), which is aimed to create a new creative industries and design landmark in Hong Kong called “PMQ” while conserving heritage of the PMQ and providing local open space therein, was selected in November 2010. The project focuses on the design sector which cuts across various creative industries. It targets at providing an integrated service platform and studios, with retail space to display products and production processes for designers and create-preneurs. In addition to conserving the three Grade 3 buildings, there will be an underground interpretation area for visitors to appreciate the underground remains of the former Central School at close range. Additional landscaped open space will also be provided. The revitalised facilities are expected to commence operation in 2014.








 

| News |
Funding for conservation and revitalisation works of the project has been approved by the Finance Committee of Legislative Council in July 2011.

Conservation and revitalisation works for transforming the site into a creative industries landmark commenced in January 2012 and were completed in December 2013.

The Musketeers Foundation has set up a special purpose company named "PMQ Management Company Limited", which has acquired charitable status under Section 88 of the Inland Revenue Ordinance (Cap. 112), to be responsible for the implementation of the project and the day-to-day operation of the site after revitalisation, including the leasing of studio and other units.

The "PMQ"website has been launched by PMQ Management Company Limited.

The pre-opening of "PMQ" commenced in April 2014 and the soft opening was arranged in May 2014.  For information of guided tour, please refer to this link.

跳至內容

| 簡史 |
荷李活道前已婚警察宿舍座落荷李活道/士丹頓街「蘇豪區」一帶,毗鄰孫中山史蹟徑。它包括兩幢宿舍和一幢少年警訊會所,全部建於1951年。此外,它亦位於前中央書院的地下遺址之上。建成於1889年的中央書院是第一所為公眾提供高小和中學西式教育的官校,標誌著香港公共教育的發展新階段。

在第二次世界大戰期間,該校舍受到嚴重破壞,並於1948年拆卸以興建已婚警察宿舍。荷李活道前已婚警察宿舍是首所為包括華人的已婚員佐級人員提供的住所,藉以提升前綫警員的士氣。

| 建築特色 |
從建築而言,前已婚警察宿舍三幢建築的設計反映了現代主義的建築。這三幢三級歷史建築物直接地滿足了功能上的要求,這與其建造方式和選料均反映當年的建築時尚。

| 建議用途 |
荷李活道前已婚警察宿舍將改造成為標誌性的創意中心。經過公開招標及競爭性的甄選程序後,在2010年11月獲選的建議書由同心教育文化慈善基金會有限公司(非牟利機構)提出,旨在建設香港的標誌性創意產業及設計中心,該項目現名為「元創方」,同時保育這個文物地點,並為鄰近社區提供休憩用地。項目著眼於設計界,這個界別涵蓋多個創意產業。項目旨在提供綜合式服務平台、工作室及零售地點,供設計師及創意創業人士展示其產品及製作功藝。除保育三幢三級建築外,該址將設立詮釋該址歷史的地下設施,讓訪客能細意欣賞前中央書院的地下遺跡。此外,亦會增設美化休憩用地。活化設施預計於2014年啟用。







 

| 最新消息 |
這個項目的保育和活化工程已於2011年7月得到立法會財務委員會批准撥款。

改造本址為標誌性創意中心的保育和活化工程於2012年1月展開,並已於2013年12月竣工。

「同心基金」成立了一間特設公司,名為元創方管理有限公司,該公司已根據《稅務條例》(第112章)第88條的規定取得慈善機構的身分,以落實項目及負責用地活化後的日常運作包括項目內創意工作室和其他單位的租務事宜。

元創方管理有限公司已推出「元創方」網站

「元創方」已於2014年4月試行開業前運作,並已於2014年5月開始試業。有關導賞團資訊,請瀏覽此連結