Jump to the beginning of content

Secondary students to become town planners

The Planning Department (PlanD) organises the City Gallery Summer Planning School – “Be a Town Planner” programme during this summer holiday. A wide range of activities are arranged for about 200 secondary and primary students for them to learn about the development and planning of Hong Kong. Themed on “Urban Renewal”, this year’s programme is jointly organised by the PlanD and the Urban Renewal Authority (URA). Lectures, field studies and workshops are held for students to learn about the strategy to urban renewal. Here, I have invited colleagues from the PlanD and the URA to talk about the aims and details of the programme, and one of the secondary students will share with us his feelings about the programme.

Over a thousand students have taken part in the programme

This is the sixth year for the PlanD to organise the City Gallery Summer Planning School. Given the overwhelming response from schools and active participation by students, the programme has become a major annual event of the City Gallery, with more than 430 upper primary students and 820 senior secondary students having participated so far.

As always, the Summer Planning School this year has met with an enthusiastic response from students: 60 students from 4 primary schools have joined the Little Planners Group and 120 students from 22 secondary schools have joined the Teen Planners Group. The theme of the programme this year is “Urban Renewal”; through field trips in the Central and Western District and exchanges with professional planners, students will learn the “5R” urban renewal strategies of the URA, i.e. Redevelopment, Rehabilitation, pReservation, Revitalisation and Retrofitting.

Nurturing a new generation of planning talent

Ms CHAU Yin-mai, Lisa, town planner of the PlanD, says that in the workshop session, Teen Planners Group students will apply the knowledge acquired at the Summer School to build a 3D model of their re-planning design of 23 hectares of land in Central and Sheung Wan districts under the guidance of tutors. During the re-planning exercise, teen planners have to ponder on issues like suitable land use, development density, building height, spatial layout and urban design. The workshop aims at providing students with a better understanding of town planning and the future development of Hong Kong, as well as enhancing their interest in town planning, the ultimate aim is to nurture a new generation of young planners.

The URA programme is divided into two parts, which are guided tours to the Urban Renewal Exploration Centre (UREC) in H6 CONET at The Center and a redevelopment project site on Queen's Road West. The UREC presents a real-life experience of dilapidated housing displaying interesting exhibits, including some mock-up caged homes and small cubicles for students to learn about the problems of old districts and enlighten them to find ways to improve the living environment and understand the importance of proper planning in urban renewal.

Exploring different factors of urban redevelopment

The students also make a field trip to the site of the Queen's Road West/In Ku Lane Development Scheme. Ms SIU Pik-ling, Wynne, Senior Manager (External Relations) of the URA, says that the development scheme involves a soccer pitch surrounded by buildings, with a refuse collection point and a public toilet nearby. During the visits, planners explain to the students how to rationalise land uses and layouts within the project site by making adjustments and re-planning in order to improve the quality of public space, enhance connectivity, accessibility and comfort of the locality to provide a better environment to the residents living in the vicinity. At present, the URA will undertake urban renewal by a district-based approach to rejuvenate old areas and enhance the overall environment through redevelopment and rehabilitation.

Applying what they have learnt to designing a new community

TSANG Kong-san, Nathan, one of the students of the Teen Planners Group, says that he is very interested in studying town planning. Given the hilly terrain and shortage of flat lands in Hong Kong, Nathan finds it a challenging yet interesting task to conduct planning for this city of such limited space to achieve sustainable development. Within the three-day programme of field studies and lectures, they come to learn about the concepts of city planning, such as the need for a city to have diversity in building height and landmarks to attract tourists. He and his team members have learnt a lot, and they are happy that the model of a new community that they built applying the newly acquired knowledge has earned praises from the tutors.

Just as most developed cities, Hong Kong faces a formidable problem of ageing buildings and urban decay. Many quarters of our community and our living environment as a whole, are in dire need of improvement. I encourage the PlanD and the URA to continue co-organising similar programmes for students to learn about the urban renewal strategy and its importance, and to know more about the planning development of Hong Kong in the future.

 
Please click on the image above to watch the video.
About 200 secondary and primary students join the Summer Planning School this year. Pictured here are secondary students of the Teen Planners Group together with their tutors outside the City Gallery in Central..
About 200 secondary and primary students join the Summer Planning School this year. Pictured here are secondary students of the Teen Planners Group together with their tutors outside the City Gallery in Central.
Ms CHAU Yin-mai, Lisa, town planner of the Planning Department (PlanD), says that the summer course this year, themed on urban renewal, is jointly organised by the PlanD and the Urban Renewal Authority (URA) for students to learn about the urban renewal strategy..
Ms CHAU Yin-mai, Lisa, town planner of the Planning Department (PlanD), says that the summer course this year, themed on urban renewal, is jointly organised by the PlanD and the Urban Renewal Authority (URA) for students to learn about the urban renewal strategy.
Ms SIU Pik-ling, Wynne, Senior Manager (External Relations) of the URA, says that through the field trip to the Queen's Road West/In Ku Lane Development Scheme site, students can learn how to rationalise land uses and layouts within the project site by proper planning to improve the quality of public space, enhance connectivity, accessibility and comfort of the locality to provide a better environment to the residents living in the vicinity..
Ms SIU Pik-ling, Wynne, Senior Manager (External Relations) of the URA, says that through the field trip to the Queen's Road West/In Ku Lane Development Scheme site, students can learn how to rationalise land uses and layouts within the project site by proper planning to improve the quality of public space, enhance connectivity, accessibility and comfort of the locality to provide a better environment to the residents living in the vicinity.
Students attending a lecture and visiting the Urban Renewal Exploration Centre located in H6 CONET at The Center..
Students attending a lecture and visiting the Urban Renewal Exploration Centre located in H6 CONET at The Center..
Students attending a lecture and visiting the Urban Renewal Exploration Centre located in H6 CONET at The Center.
Students visiting one of URA’s urban renewal project site and a nearby preservation project near Queen’s Road West..
Students visiting one of URA’s urban renewal project site and a nearby preservation project near Queen’s Road West..
Students visiting one of URA’s urban renewal project site and a nearby preservation project near Queen’s Road West..
Students visiting one of URA’s urban renewal project site and a nearby preservation project near Queen’s Road West.
Putting their planning knowledge acquired at the summer course into good use, students make a 3D model to visualise their ideal new community..
Putting their planning knowledge acquired at the summer course into good use, students make a 3D model to visualise their ideal new community..
Putting their planning knowledge acquired at the summer course into good use, students make a 3D model to visualise their ideal new community..
Putting their planning knowledge acquired at the summer course into good use, students make a 3D model to visualise their ideal new community..
Putting their planning knowledge acquired at the summer course into good use, students make a 3D model to visualise their ideal new community.
TSANG Kong-san, Nathan (third left), a student from the Teen Planners Group, says that they come to learn about the concepts of urban design in the three-day programme of field studies and lectures..
TSANG Kong-san, Nathan (third left), a student from the Teen Planners Group, says that they come to learn about the concepts of urban design in the three-day programme of field studies and lectures.

18 August, 2019

Back.

跳至內容

中學生化身城市規劃師

今年暑假,規劃署舉辦了展城館暑期規劃學校─「做個城市規劃師」課程,為約200名中小學生舉辦一系列活動,讓他們認識香港城市發展和規劃。是次活動由規劃署與市區重建局(市建局)合作,以市區更新為題,讓學生透過講座、實地考察和工作坊認識市區更新工作的策略。今次,我邀請了規劃署和市建局的同事,為大家講解活動的目的和內容,以及由中學生分享參與活動後的感受。

已有過千學生參與

今年是規劃署第6年舉辦展城館暑期規劃學校,由於學校反應熱烈和學生踴躍參與,該活動已成為展城館一年一度的重點項目,至今已有超過430位高小學生和820位高中學生參與。

一如既往,今年參加暑期規劃學校課程的學生非常踴躍:有4間小學共60名小學生參加「小小規劃師組」;22間中學共120名中學生參加「青蔥規劃師組」。今年的課程以市區更新為主題,讓學生透過實地考察中西區和與專業規劃師交流,認識市區更新工作的5R策略,即重建、復修、保育、活化和改造重設。

培育新一代規劃人才

規劃署城市規劃師周燕薇表示,在工作坊的環節,參與「青蔥規劃師組」的中學生會製作一個立體模型,利用課堂所學的知識,並在小組導師帶領下把中上環23公頃的土地重新規劃,包括構思合適的土地用途、發展密度、樓宇高度、空間布局、城市設計等,希望讓學生認識香港城市規劃和未來發展,並提升他們對參與城市規劃的興趣,為培育新一代規劃人才作好準備。

至於市建局為學生安排的活動,分為兩個部分,包括帶領學生參觀位於中環中心H6 CONET 內的市區更新探知館,以及到皇后大道西參觀一個重建計劃。探知館內設有舊區生活展覽區,讓學生可從模擬籠屋、板間房等認識舊區的問題,從而引導他們找出改善居住環境的方法,及認識規劃工作在市區更新中的重要性。

探討市區重建考慮因素

同學今次亦實地考察皇后大道西/賢居里的市區更新發展計劃。市建局對外關係高級經理蕭碧玲表示,有關發展計劃涉及一個被周邊樓宇包圍的足球場,附近有垃圾收集站及公廁,活動中規劃師向學生講解如何透過重整及重新規劃,理順項目範圍內的土地用途和布局,改善公共空間環境,加強地方的連接性、可達性和舒適度,為附近居民提供更優質的環境。現時市建局在更新舊區時會採取小區規劃的模式,透過重建、復修等多元手法,更新舊區面貌,改善環境。

學以致用設計新社區

參與「青蔥規劃師組」的學生曾港燊表示,他本身對研究城市發展有興趣,尤其是香港山多平地少,如何在這有限的空間進行規劃,令城市達到可持續發展,是具挑戰和有趣的課題。一連3日的考察和課堂,讓他們認識城市設計的概念,例如城市需要有不同高度的建築物,設計一些地標吸引遊客等。他和組員感到獲益良多之外,更利用有關知識製作新社區的模型,獲得導師讚賞。

香港一如大多已發展城市,正面對嚴峻的樓宇和市區老化問題,不少社區和市民的居住環境均有待改善。我鼓勵規劃署和市建局繼續合辦這類活動,有助學生認識市區更新工作的策略和重要性,並讓他們了解更多有關香港未來的規劃發展。

 
請按上圖觀看影片
今年約有200名中小學生參加展城館暑期規劃學校的課程,圖為參與「青蔥規劃師組」的中學生與導師在中環展城館外合照。.
今年約有200名中小學生參加展城館暑期規劃學校的課程,圖為參與「青蔥規劃師組」的中學生與導師在中環展城館外合照。
規劃署城市規劃師周燕薇表示,今年的暑期課程由規劃署與市區重建局(市建局)合辦,以市區更新為題,讓學生認識市區更新工作的策略。.
規劃署城市規劃師周燕薇表示,今年的暑期課程由規劃署與市區重建局(市建局)合辦,以市區更新為題,讓學生認識市區更新工作的策略。
市建局對外關係高級經理蕭碧玲表示,學生透過考察皇后大道西/賢居里的市區更新發展計劃,認識到如何透過規劃,理順項目範圍內的土地用途和布局,改善公共空間環境及加強地方的連接性、可達性和舒適度,為附近居民提供更優質的環境。.
市建局對外關係高級經理蕭碧玲表示,學生透過考察皇后大道西/賢居里的市區更新發展計劃,認識到如何透過規劃,理順項目範圍內的土地用途和布局,改善公共空間環境及加強地方的連接性、可達性和舒適度,為附近居民提供更優質的環境。
學生參加講座和參觀位於中環中心H6 CONET 內的市區更新探知館。.
學生參加講座和參觀位於中環中心H6 CONET 內的市區更新探知館。.
學生參加講座和參觀位於中環中心H6 CONET 內的市區更新探知館。
學生到皇后大道西一帶,參觀市建局市區更新發展計劃及附近的保育項目。.
學生到皇后大道西一帶,參觀市建局市區更新發展計劃及附近的保育項目。.
學生到皇后大道西一帶,參觀市建局市區更新發展計劃及附近的保育項目。.
學生到皇后大道西一帶,參觀市建局市區更新發展計劃及附近的保育項目。
學生利用暑期課程所學到的規劃知識製作立體模型,把理想的新社區呈現出來。.
學生利用暑期課程所學到的規劃知識製作立體模型,把理想的新社區呈現出來。.
學生利用暑期課程所學到的規劃知識製作立體模型,把理想的新社區呈現出來。.
學生利用暑期課程所學到的規劃知識製作立體模型,把理想的新社區呈現出來。.
學生利用暑期課程所學到的規劃知識製作立體模型,把理想的新社區呈現出來。
「青蔥規劃師組」的學生曾港燊(左三)表示,一連3日的考察和課堂,讓他們認識到城市設計的概念。.
「青蔥規劃師組」的學生曾港燊(左三)表示,一連3日的考察和課堂,讓他們認識到城市設計的概念。

2019年8月18日

返回.