Jump to the beginning of content

Development and conservation of Lok Ma Chau Loop

In recent years, the Government has introduced various policies to support the innovation and technology industry, one of which is the development of the Hong Kong-Shenzhen Innovation and Technology Park (the Park) at the Lok Ma Chau Loop (the Loop). The infrastructure works of the Loop are undertaken by the Development Bureau and the Civil Engineering and Development Department (CEDD). The Under Secretary for Development, Mr LIU Chun-san, and the Political Assistant to the Secretary for Development, Mr FUNG Ying-lun, Allen, went to the Loop earlier with two secondary school students who had participated in the “Be a Government Official for a Day” programme. They were briefed by the colleagues of the CEDD on the works progress and how the natural environment could be conserved while development takes place.

The Advance Works of the Loop commenced in June last year. The first batch of land is expected to be available by 2021 for the development of buildings and associated facilities for Phase 1 of the Park. The Advance Works mainly include the establishment of an Ecological Area (EA) within the Loop, the construction of a temporary access to the Loop and the erection of temporary noise barriers along Lok Ma Chau Road.

Balancing development and conservation

On the day of the visit, everyone listened to the development plans for the Loop presented by the CEDD colleagues while overlooking the Loop. The ground treatment works of the Advance Works of the Loop are progressing at full steam to enable the provision of the first batch of land. According to Chief Engineer of the West Development Office of the CEDD, Ms LIU Tze-kwan, Fiona, one of the key features of the project is to strike a balance between development and conservation. In order to reduce the ecological impact during the construction and operation stages of the Loop development, the CEDD has implemented a series of ecological mitigation measures, including the establishment of an EA (pictured) under the Advance Works.

Establishment of an EA of about 12.8 hectares

An EA with an area of about 12.8 hectares (ha) will be established in the southeastern part of the 87-ha Loop to conserve or compensate for habitats of high conservation value, such as the reed marsh in the Loop and the existing flight line corridor of birds. To give full play to its functions and value, the EA will be linked with the old Shenzhen (SZ) River meander and the fishponds to form a continuous wetland.

Attracting animals to settle and breed

The EA will be divided into four reed cells and one freshwater marsh cell for planting mainly of reeds and some aquatic plants. Native plants will be planted on the embankment slopes of the cells to conserve the existing ecology. A small island in the freshwater marsh cell will provide a variety of habitats with a view to attracting animals like birds and Eurasian otters to settle and breed there.

Apart from its conservation function, the EA will also serve as flood storage in times of heavy rain. It can collect and store rainwater to attenuate the peak run-off due to the development of the Loop. Also, impacts on the old SZ River meander and the downstream drainage system can be alleviated.

A project with many challenges

Regarding the challenges besetting the project, there have been many in the course of the Advance Works according to Ms Fiona LIU. For instance, construction works pose greater difficulty in the wet season. However, to reduce the impacts of the works on birds, the project team has to suspend their works along the old SZ River meander outside the rainy season (from November to the following February every year) when migratory birds come to Hong Kong to spend their winter. When the rainy season arrives, the project team then has to carry out the works as quickly as possible. In addition, without an external access to areas outside the Loop, there have been certain challenges in the transportation of materials, equipment and machines. Project staff have to construct a temporary access to the Loop, including an approximately 60-metre-long temporary vehicular bridge across the old SZ River meander, as part of the Advance Works.

Advance Works in good progress

At present, the Advance Works have been making good progress and we are on track to meet the target of making available the first batch of land by 2021. Here, I would like to thank in particular the project team for their professionalism and dedication. While the Park is being developed, wetlands and green areas of the Loop and the surrounding are being conserved to maintain the ecology and biodiversity.

 
Please click on the image above to watch the video.
The Under Secretary for Development (USDEV), Mr LIU Chun-san (third left), and the Political Assistant to the Secretary for Development, Mr FUNG Ying-lun, Allen (second left), pay a visit to the Lok Ma Chau Loop (the Loop) with two secondary school students, Ms KWOK (fourth right) and Ms LAM (fifth right), who have participated in the “Be a Government Official for a Day” programme..
The Under Secretary for Development (USDEV), Mr LIU Chun-san (third left), and the Political Assistant to the Secretary for Development, Mr FUNG Ying-lun, Allen (second left), pay a visit to the Lok Ma Chau Loop (the Loop) with two secondary school students, Ms KWOK (fourth right) and Ms LAM (fifth right), who have participated in the “Be a Government Official for a Day” programme.
Chief Engineer of the West Development Office of the Civil Engineering and Development Department, Ms LIU Tze-kwan, Fiona, says that one of the key features of the Loop project is to strike a balance between development and conservation..
Chief Engineer of the West Development Office of the Civil Engineering and Development Department, Ms LIU Tze-kwan, Fiona, says that one of the key features of the Loop project is to strike a balance between development and conservation.
Proceeding at full steam, the Advance Works of the Lok Ma Chau Loop is on track to meet the target of making the first batch of land available by 2021..
Proceeding at full steam, the Advance Works of the Lok Ma Chau Loop is on track to meet the target of making the first batch of land available by 2021.
An Ecological Area (EA) with an area of about 12.8 hectares (ha) will be established in the southeastern part of the 87-ha Lok Ma Chau Loop to conserve or compensate for habitats of high conservation value..
An Ecological Area (EA) with an area of about 12.8 hectares (ha) will be established in the southeastern part of the 87-ha Lok Ma Chau Loop to conserve or compensate for habitats of high conservation value.
The reed marsh in the Loop and the existing flight line corridor of birds will be the features of the habitats in the EA..
The reed marsh in the Loop and the existing flight line corridor of birds will be the features of the habitats in the EA.
The EA will be divided into four reed cells and one freshwater marsh cell. A small island in the freshwater marsh cell will provide a variety of habitats with a view to attracting animals like birds and Eurasian otters to settle and breed there..
The EA will be divided into four reed cells and one freshwater marsh cell. A small island in the freshwater marsh cell will provide a variety of habitats with a view to attracting animals like birds and Eurasian otters to settle and breed there.
The USDEV, Mr LIU Chun-san (sixth left), especially says thank you to the project team for their professionalism and dedication. While the Hong Kong-Shenzhen Innovation and Technology Park is being developed, wetlands and green areas of the Loop and the surrounding are being conserved to maintain the ecology and biodiversity..
The USDEV, Mr LIU Chun-san (sixth left), especially says thank you to the project team for their professionalism and dedication. While the Hong Kong-Shenzhen Innovation and Technology Park is being developed, wetlands and green areas of the Loop and the surrounding are being conserved to maintain the ecology and biodiversity.

11 August, 2019

Back.

跳至內容

落馬洲河套地區的發展與保育

近年,政府推出多項政策以支持香港的創科業,其中一項是在落馬洲河套地區(河套地區)興建港深創新及科技園(創科園)。河套地區的基建工程由發展局和土木工程拓展署(土拓署)負責。早前,發展局副局長廖振新與政治助理馮英倫,聯同兩位參加「與香港同行」計劃的中學生,前往河套地區,聽取土拓署同事簡介工程的進展,以及了解在發展的同時,如何保育自然環境。

河套地區前期工程於去年6月展開,預計在2021年或以前提供首批土地,以發展創科園第一期的樓宇與相關設施。前期工程主要包括在河套地區內建立生態區;建造一條往來河套地區的臨時通道;以及沿落馬洲路建造臨時隔音屏障等。

平衡發展與保育

參觀當天,大家一邊聽取土拓署同事簡介河套地區發展規劃,一邊俯瞰河套地區。前期工程正全速推展首批土地的處理工作。土拓署西拓展處總工程師廖子君介紹工程其中一大特色,是要在發展與保育之間取得平衡。為了減少河套地區的發展在施工和運作階段對生態的影響,土拓署實施一系列生態緩解措施,包括在前期工程中建立一個生態區(見圖)。

建立12.8公頃生態區

在87公頃河套地區的東南面,生態區佔地約12.8公頃,以保存或補償具保育價值的生境,例如河套地區內的蘆葦叢、現有的雀鳥飛行走廊等,並與舊深圳河河曲及魚塘融合相連,形成連貫濕地,充分發揮生態區的功能和價值。

吸引動物棲息繁衍

生態區分成4個蘆葦沼澤區及1個淡水沼澤區,沼澤區內主要種植蘆葦及一些水生植物,其堤基斜坡則種植原生植物,以保存現有生態。淡水沼澤區將設有小島,提供多元化生境,希望能吸引動物棲息和繁殖,包括雀鳥、歐亞水獺等。

另外,生態區除了具保育功能外,它在大雨時亦能發揮蓄洪作用,可以把收集到的雨水儲存,以暫緩發展後的河套地區所產生的高峰徑流,以及減低對舊深圳河河曲和下游雨水排放系統的影響。

工程具多項挑戰

談及工程的挑戰時,廖子君表示,前期工程有頗多挑戰,例如在雨季施工比較困難,但為了減低工程對雀鳥的影響,工程團隊在候鳥來港過冬的非雨季季節(即每年的11月至翌年2月期間),會暫停沿舊深圳河河曲的工程;相反雨季來臨時,工程團隊就要加緊施工。另外,由於河套地區缺乏對外的通道,在工料和器械運輸上都有一定的挑戰。工程人員要在前期工程,建造往來河套地區的臨時通道,包括一條長約60米橫跨舊深圳河河曲的臨時行車橋等。

前期工程進度理想

目前,前期工程進度理想,向2021年或以前提供首批土地的目標穩步邁進。在此,我特別感謝工程團隊的專業精神和努力,在發展創科園的同時,保育河套地區及周邊的濕地及綠地,以維護自然生態及生物多樣性。

 
請按上圖觀看影片
發展局副局長廖振新(左三)與發展局局長政治助理馮英倫(左二),帶同兩位參加「與香港同行」計劃的中學生郭同學(右四)及林同學(右五)參觀落馬洲河套地區。.
發展局副局長廖振新(左三)與發展局局長政治助理馮英倫(左二),帶同兩位參加「與香港同行」計劃的中學生郭同學(右四)及林同學(右五)參觀落馬洲河套地區。
土拓署西拓展處總工程師廖子君表示,河套地區工程其中一大特色,是要在發展與保育間取得平衡。.
土拓署西拓展處總工程師廖子君表示,河套地區工程其中一大特色,是要在發展與保育間取得平衡。
落馬洲河套地區前期工程正全速推展,向2021年或以前提供首批土地的目標穩步邁進。.
落馬洲河套地區前期工程正全速推展,向2021年或以前提供首批土地的目標穩步邁進。
在佔地87公頃河套地區的東南面,建立面積約12.8公頃的生態區,以保存或補償具保育價值的生境。.
在佔地87公頃河套地區的東南面,建立面積約12.8公頃的生態區,以保存或補償具保育價值的生境。
河套地區內的蘆葦叢、現有的雀鳥飛行走廊等將成為生態區的生境特色。.
河套地區內的蘆葦叢、現有的雀鳥飛行走廊等將成為生態區的生境特色。
生態區分成4個蘆葦沼澤區及1個淡水沼澤區。淡水沼澤區將設有小島,提供多元化生境,希望能吸引動物棲息和繁殖,包括雀鳥、歐亞水獺等。.
生態區分成4個蘆葦沼澤區及1個淡水沼澤區。淡水沼澤區將設有小島,提供多元化生境,希望能吸引動物棲息和繁殖,包括雀鳥、歐亞水獺等。
發展局副局長廖振新(左六)特別感謝工程團隊的專業精神和努力,在發展創科園的同時,保育河套地區及周邊的濕地及綠地,以維護自然生態及生物多樣性。.
發展局副局長廖振新(左六)特別感謝工程團隊的專業精神和努力,在發展創科園的同時,保育河套地區及周邊的濕地及綠地,以維護自然生態及生物多樣性。

2019年8月11日

返回.