Jump to the beginning of content

Young Lo Pan inherit construction wisdom

Last Monday (15 July) was Lo Pan Patron’s Day. I was invited to officiate at the presentation ceremony of the Young Lo Pan Award. Apart from promoting the spirit of Lo Pan, the Master of Crafts, the ceremony also aimed to recognise young practitioners with outstanding performance in the construction industry, so as to foster their sense of belonging to the industry and encourage more young people to join. At the ceremony, the atmosphere was vibrant and full of energy thanks to the attendance of young people who are new blood in the industry. In particular, I have invited two young awardees to share stories of how they joined the industry and details of their work.

Master Lo Pan was the greatest builder, carpenter and inventor in ancient China, and is worshipped as the master of practitioners of the construction industry. Handed down through generations are not only his superlative craftsmanship and the tools he invented, but also, more importantly, his motivation to pursue excellence in his skills, his commitment to established rules and his mindset to strive for evolution through innovation.

Promoting the use of innovation and technology in the industry

In recent years, the local construction industry has been facing the problems of an ageing workforce and shortage of skilled workers. While the Government has been strengthening construction manpower training to enhance the skill levels of the labour force on one hand, it has also taken the lead in promoting the use of innovative technology on the other, for example, piloting the use of Modular Integrated Construction in public projects, and applying Building Information Modelling in construction projects to optimise designs and co-ordination. In addition, the virtual reality (VR) technology is applied to safety training to enhance the safety awareness of construction workers. I hope all our young Lo Pan will keep abreast of the times and the latest technology development, and proactively harness and apply new technologies.

Keen demand for construction services

On the day of the ceremony, I was pleased to witness a group of young construction practitioners being presented with various 2019 Young Lo Pan awards in recognition of their outstanding craftsmanship and career achievements. With a keen demand for construction services coming up in Hong Kong, all young people, with or without an award, will have a promising career as long as they continue to upgrade themselves and strive for continuous excellence in the industry. Mr Teddy KWOK, this year’s winner of the “Excellent Young Lo Pan Award”, is one excellent example.

Passing the baton to a new generation

15 years ago, Mr Teddy KWOK joined the construction industry and started as a project assistant. Today, he is a project manager. After completing Form 5, he studied the Higher Diploma course in Structural Engineering and completed it in 2004. Ever since joining the industry, he has continued to study and gained valuable work experience under the guidance of the trade’s senior members and colleagues. According to him, it is of utmost importance “not to care about getting an unfavourable deal” while at work. As it is sometimes the case that a company might not have enough resources to meet all the needs of the works at hand, staff may have to take on additional duties, which, however, is also an opportunity for them to learn different skills such as how to draw graphics, hold a meeting and draft documents.

In recent years, Mr Teddy KWOK has become an active participant in the trade’s volunteer services. For example, to strengthen the confidence of the industry’s young entrants, he volunteers as a career mentor for the Construction Industry Council to help young people form a clear vision of their career direction and goal, hoping to pass the baton to them.

Dedicated to the industry

I was pleased to see so many dedicated young practitioners at the award presentation ceremony. Mr CHAN Wang-tat, winner of the “Construction Crafts” award, is only 19 this year. After graduation from secondary school at 17, he attended the Painting & Decoration course at the Hong Kong Institute of Construction. Recalling the reasons for joining the industry, he says that he witnessed his friend’s home undergoing redecoration and found the entire process, from conception to completion, very interesting. He says that he is motivated to stay in the trade for further development because of the job satisfaction, his masters’ whole-hearted teaching and the good working atmosphere. He is also interested in pursuing further studies in interior design and art painting so as to reach a new level in the trade.

The construction rules established by Lo Pan and the tools invented by him are still widely used today, such as the ink markers, saws and L-shaped rulers. I have faith that every young Lo Pan will pass on the master’s spirit and construction wisdom. Looking ahead, while we will continue to implement various public works projects to benefit people’s livelihood, I hope that all our young practitioners will be able to quickly grasp the new technologies in the construction industry and keep working hard to start a new chapter for the industry.

 
Please click on the image above to watch the video.
Last Monday (the thirteenth day of the sixth month in the Lunar Calendar) was Lo Pan Patron’s Day, on which the presentation ceremony of the Young Lo Pan Award was held to recognise young practitioners with outstanding performance in the construction industry..
Last Monday (the thirteenth day of the sixth month in the Lunar Calendar) was Lo Pan Patron’s Day, on which the presentation ceremony of the Young Lo Pan Award was held to recognise young practitioners with outstanding performance in the construction industry.
The Secretary for Development (SDEV), Mr WONG Wai-lun, Michael, says he is pleased to witness a group of young construction practitioners being presented with various 2019 Young Lo Pan awards in recognition of their outstanding craftsmanship and career achievements..
The Secretary for Development (SDEV), Mr WONG Wai-lun, Michael, says he is pleased to witness a group of young construction practitioners being presented with various 2019 Young Lo Pan awards in recognition of their outstanding craftsmanship and career achievements.
The SDEV, Mr Michael WONG, hopes that all our “young Lo Pan” will keep abreast of the times and the latest technology development, and proactively harness and apply new technologies..
The SDEV, Mr Michael WONG, hopes that all our “young Lo Pan” will keep abreast of the times and the latest technology development, and proactively harness and apply new technologies.
The SDEV, Mr Michael WONG (right) presents an award to a winner at the Young Lo Pan Award Presentation Ceremony. Pictured is Mr Teddy KWOK (left), who has received the “Excellent Young Lo Pan Award”..
The SDEV, Mr Michael WONG (right) presents an award to a winner at the Young Lo Pan Award Presentation Ceremony. Pictured is Mr Teddy KWOK (left), who has received the “Excellent Young Lo Pan Award”.
Mr CHAN Wang-tat (left), who has been presented with a “Construction Crafts” award, and Mr Teddy KWOK (right), are dedicated to the construction industry..
Mr CHAN Wang-tat (left), who has been presented with a “Construction Crafts” award, and Mr Teddy KWOK (right), are dedicated to the construction industry.
Pictured are the “Construction Crafts” award’s winners and subscribers. Mr CHAN Wang-tat (second left), now aged 19, says that he is motivated to stay in the trade for further development because of the job satisfaction, his masters’ whole-hearted teaching and the good working atmosphere..
Pictured are the “Construction Crafts” award’s winners and subscribers. Mr CHAN Wang-tat (second left), now aged 19, says that he is motivated to stay in the trade for further development because of the job satisfaction, his masters’ whole-hearted teaching and the good working atmosphere.

21 July, 2019

Back.

跳至內容

青年魯班 承傳建造智慧

上周一(7月15日)魯班先師誕當日,我獲邀主持「青年魯班選舉」頒獎典禮。典禮除了宏揚「百匠之師」魯班先師的精神,亦希望表揚建造業表現傑出的年輕從業員,增強他們對行業的歸屬感,並鼓勵更多年輕人加入建造行列。在頒獎禮上,一眾行業的生力軍,充滿朝氣與活力。我亦特別邀請兩位年輕得獎者,分享他們入行的經歷及工作。

魯班先師是中國古代最出色的建築師、工匠和發明家,被建造業界奉為祖師。流傳後世的不單是他高超的工藝和發明的工具,更重要的是他追求工藝卓越的上進精神、「規矩準繩」的處世態度和勇於創新求變的思想。

推動業界應用創新科技

本地建造業近年面對人手老化、技術工人短缺的問題。政府一方面加強建造業人才培訓,提升從業員的技術水平;另一方面一直帶頭推動創新科技應用,例如在公營項目試行MiC(「組裝合成」建築法),並在多個工程項目運用BIM(「建築信息模擬」)技術,優化設計和協調工作。另外,VR(「虛擬實境」)技術亦應用到安全訓練上,加強工友的安全意識。我希望各位「青年魯班」能把握時代進步和科技發展的趨勢,積極掌握和應用創新科技。

對建造服務需求殷切

頒獎禮當天,我很高興見證一班年輕的建造業從業員,憑著傑出的工藝和事業成就,得到業界的認同,獲得「2019青年魯班選舉」的各個獎項。香港未來對建造服務需求非常殷切,各位年輕人無論得獎與否,只要在行業內不斷充實自己,努力向上,前途是無可限量的。今年獲得「優秀青年魯班大獎」的郭捷進便是其中一個很好的例子。

薪火相傳

郭捷進入行15年,由工程助理做起,現已晉升為工程經理。他中五畢業後修讀高級文憑(結構工程),2004年畢業。入行後,他一直持續進修,並得到前輩和同事的幫助,累積了寶貴的工作經驗。他說,工作時最重要是「不怕蝕底」,有時公司的資源未必能完全配合工程的多項需要,員工可能要身兼多職,但這也是學習不同技能的機會,例如怎樣畫圖、開會、做文件等。

近年,郭捷進積極參與業界的義工服務,如為建造業議會當事業導師,希望做到薪火相傳,協助新入行的年輕人,認清事業發展的方向和目標,增強他們的信心。

對行業充滿熱忱

我很高興在頒獎典禮上,看到有不少年輕人對行業充滿熱忱。獲得「建築工藝獎」的陳泓達,今年只有19歲。他17歲中學畢業後,報讀香港建造學院的油漆粉飾班。回想當初入行的原因,是他看到朋友家居裝修,由零開始到完工,覺得整個施工過程很有趣。他說,工作上的滿足感,師傅用心教導,工作氣氛良好,是他留在行業內繼續發展的動力。他亦有意進修室內設計和藝術油漆,希望在行業內更上一層樓。

魯班先師訂定的建造法則,以及發明的工具,例如墨斗、鋸、曲尺等,時至今日仍被廣泛應用。我相信各位「青年魯班」定能承傳先師的精神和建造智慧。展望將來,我們會持續推展各項惠及民生的工務工程,期望各年輕從業員能快速地掌握建造業的新技術,不斷努力,為建造業帶來新氣象。

 
請按上圖觀看影片
剛過去的星期一(農曆6月13日)是「魯班先師誕」,當天更舉辦「青年魯班選舉」頒獎典禮,表揚建造業表現傑出的年輕從業員。.
剛過去的星期一(農曆6月13日)是「魯班先師誕」,當天更舉辦「青年魯班選舉」頒獎典禮,表揚建造業表現傑出的年輕從業員。
黃偉綸局長說,很高興見證一班年輕的建造業從業員,憑著傑出的工藝和事業成就,得到業界的認同,獲得「2019青年魯班選舉」各個獎項。.
黃偉綸局長說,很高興見證一班年輕的建造業從業員,憑著傑出的工藝和事業成就,得到業界的認同,獲得「2019青年魯班選舉」各個獎項。
黃偉綸局長期望各「青年魯班」把握時代進步和科技發展的趨勢,積極掌握和應用創新科技。.
黃偉綸局長期望各「青年魯班」把握時代進步和科技發展的趨勢,積極掌握和應用創新科技。
黃偉綸局長(右)向「青年魯班選舉」得獎者頒發獎項。圖中郭捷進(左)獲得「優秀青年魯班大獎」。.
黃偉綸局長(右)向「青年魯班選舉」得獎者頒發獎項。圖中郭捷進(左)獲得「優秀青年魯班大獎」。
郭捷進(右)和獲得「建築工藝獎」的陳泓達(左)對建造業充滿熱忱。.
郭捷進(右)和獲得「建築工藝獎」的陳泓達(左)對建造業充滿熱忱。
圖為「建築工藝獎」的得獎者和提名人。現年19歲的陳泓達(左二)說,工作的滿足感,師傅用心教導,加上工作氣氛良好,是他留在行業內繼續發展的動力。.
圖為「建築工藝獎」的得獎者和提名人。現年19歲的陳泓達(左二)說,工作的滿足感,師傅用心教導,加上工作氣氛良好,是他留在行業內繼續發展的動力。

2019年7月21日

返回.