Jump to the beginning of content

Living in safe buildings to stay healthy and happy

Hong Kong is a high-density city, conditions of buildings are premised upon joint community efforts. On my recent visit to the Buildings Department (BD) to learn more about its services and work, I was briefed by colleagues on how building safety messages are promoted to the public through various channels. Among others, the Building Safety Week is the BD's annual major public education and publicity event. Concluded successfully in May, the Building Safety Week 2019 has heightened the awareness of the importance of building safety in both the community and the construction industry through a series of diversified activities, encouraging them to foster a building care culture together.

In the blink of an eye, the Building Safety Week has entered its fifth year. This year’s theme, “Living in Safe Buildings”, reflects that Hong Kong people conduct activities of daily life, work and even leisure inside buildings. It also reminds us that we, as users or owners of buildings, have the responsibility to pay attention to the repair, maintenance and management of our buildings, so as to ensure that we can stay healthy and happy while living in safe buildings.

Recognising building safety risks

The opening ceremony of this year's Building Safety Week was held in Tai Kwun. Formerly the Central Police Station Compound with more than a century of history, Tai Kwun aptly demonstrates that with proper maintenance and timely repairs, buildings can be used from generation to generation. At present, there are more than 40 000 private buildings in Hong Kong, half of them aged 30 years or above. To enhance building safety, apart from relying on enforcement actions by colleagues of the BD, it is more important that the public can recognise building safety risks and take action to carry out timely maintenance.

Diversified activities to disseminate messages

In this year’s Building Safety Week, the BD especially incorporated building safety messages into various activities in the hope of reaching more members of the public from different walks of life. On the day of the opening ceremony, activities such as the urban sketching workshop and Guided Tour @ Tai Kwun were held. Through drawing and learning more about a real case of heritage revitalisation, the public gained a better understanding of building safety and maintenance. Other programme highlights included public talks, the Building Information Centre Open Day and the Registered Inspectors Briefing Session. In addition to the Secondary School Drama Competition, which has been held for a number of years consecutively, a postcard design competition was organised for the first time this year.

Exploring the optimal use of advanced technologies

The Building Safety Symposium 2019 was the finale of the Building Safety Week. As in past years, some 500 friends who were members of the construction industry, building management sector and academia, as well as government colleagues, attended the symposium. As this year's symposium was themed “Holistic approach on building safety”, many topics delivered by speakers were related to the application of new technologies, such as exploring the use of artificial intelligence and robotics to building construction, the use of unmanned aircrafts to inspect building conditions, and the examination of the latest research findings on cyclone-resistant facade systems. Progressive technological advancements are bringing many opportunities to the construction industry. As the regulator, the Government will not procrastinate. In order to enhance construction efficiency and building safety, we will formulate relevant measures to encourage wider adoption of new technologies in the industry.

Raising owners' awareness on property maintenance

The publicity work of the BD over the years has placed emphasis on promoting to private owners the importance of carrying out regular and proper maintenance works to their property. In recent years, the Government has introduced a number of schemes to raise building owners’ awareness on property maintenance. For example, we partnered with the Urban Renewal Authority to launch the Operation Building Bright 2.0 (OBB 2.0) in 2018. It adopts a risk-based approach and focuses on residential and composite buildings aged 50 years or above with relatively low average rateable values to provide direct technical and financial assistance to owners in need, so as to help them comply with the requirements of the Mandatory Building Inspection Scheme. We hope that the scheme will be able to benefit 2 500 old buildings within five years.

The Government has also worked closely with various partnering organisations, including the URA and the Hong Kong Housing Society, to offer assistance to owners in carrying out building maintenance works, such as the Integrated Building Maintenance Assistance Scheme, Building Maintenance Grant Scheme for Elderly Owners and Building Safety Loan Scheme. The Government will continue to foster a building care culture and motivate owners to take the initiative to improve the conditions of their own buildings. Let’s pull together to make Hong Kong a safe, liveable and dynamic city.

Listening with care for better communication

Here, I would like to raise one point. The Chief Executive said at the reception in celebration of the 22nd anniversary of the establishment of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region that she would ensure that the Government’s future work would be closer and more responsive to the aspirations, sentiments and opinions of the community. The Government will enhance communication with different people through various channels to absorb views from society and make continuous improvement to our policy initiatives.

Hong Kong is a pluralistic society. We understand that relationships cannot be mended overnight. The Government will learn from the experience and listen to different public views carefully with the utmost humility and sincerity. I hope that we, as fellow Hong Kong people, will overcome difficulties, ease disputes, resolve controversies and walk together to get off to a new start.

 
Please click on the image above to watch the video.
This time in “My Blog”, the Secretary for Development (SDEV), Mr WONG Wai-lun, Michael, introduces to us the work of the Buildings Department (BD) in promoting building safety..
This time in “My Blog”, the Secretary for Development (SDEV), Mr WONG Wai-lun, Michael, introduces to us the work of the Buildings Department (BD) in promoting building safety.
The SDEV, Mr Michael WONG (right), is paying a visit to the BD. There, he is briefed by the Deputy Director of Buildings, Mr YU Tak-cheung, Dick (left), on the department’s services and work, including the promotion of building safety through various channels. (stock photograph).
The SDEV, Mr Michael WONG (right), is paying a visit to the BD. There, he is briefed by the Deputy Director of Buildings, Mr YU Tak-cheung, Dick (left), on the department’s services and work, including the promotion of building safety through various channels. (stock photograph)
The Permanent Secretary for Development (Planning and Lands) (PSPL), Ms LINN Hon Ho, Bernadette, officiates at the opening ceremony of the Building Safety Week 2019 organised by the BD. The theme of this year’s Building Safety Week, “Living in Safe Buildings”, reminds users or owners of buildings that they have the responsibility to pay attention to the repair, maintenance and management of their buildings, so as to ensure that they can stay healthy and happy while living in safe buildings..
The Permanent Secretary for Development (Planning and Lands) (PSPL), Ms LINN Hon Ho, Bernadette, officiates at the opening ceremony of the Building Safety Week 2019 organised by the BD. The theme of this year’s Building Safety Week, “Living in Safe Buildings”, reminds users or owners of buildings that they have the responsibility to pay attention to the repair, maintenance and management of their buildings, so as to ensure that they can stay healthy and happy while living in safe buildings.
The Under Secretary for Development, Mr LIU Chun-san, says at the Building Safety Symposium that the Government has introduced a number of schemes in recent years to raise the awareness of building owners on property maintenance, such as the Operation Building Bright 2.0 launched in 2018..
The Under Secretary for Development, Mr LIU Chun-san, says at the Building Safety Symposium that the Government has introduced a number of schemes in recent years to raise the awareness of building owners on property maintenance, such as the Operation Building Bright 2.0 launched in 2018.
The Director of Buildings, Mr CHEUNG Tin-cheung, says at the Building Safety Symposium that the Government will formulate measures to encourage wider adoption of new technologies in the construction industry to enhance construction efficiency and building safety..
The Director of Buildings, Mr CHEUNG Tin-cheung, says at the Building Safety Symposium that the Government will formulate measures to encourage wider adoption of new technologies in the construction industry to enhance construction efficiency and building safety.
In this year’s Building Safety Week, the BD has especially incorporated building safety messages into various activities in the hope of reaching more members of the public from different walks of life. Pictured is the PSPL, Ms Bernadette LINN (centre); the Director of Buildings, Mr CHEUNG Tin-cheung (fourth left); and other guests at the opening ceremony..
In this year’s Building Safety Week, the BD has especially incorporated building safety messages into various activities in the hope of reaching more members of the public from different walks of life. Pictured is the PSPL, Ms Bernadette LINN (centre); the Director of Buildings, Mr CHEUNG Tin-cheung (fourth left); and other guests at the opening ceremony.
Pictured are the winners of the Building Safety Pioneer Programme Lyric Rewriting MV Contest performing their winning song at the opening ceremony of the Building Safety Week 2019..
Pictured are the winners of the Building Safety Pioneer Programme Lyric Rewriting MV Contest performing their winning song at the opening ceremony of the Building Safety Week 2019.
Pictured is the “Talk @ Tai Kwun” held on the day of the opening ceremony. Through learning more about a real case of heritage revitalisation, the public can gain a better understanding of building safety and maintenance ..
Pictured is the “Talk @ Tai Kwun” held on the day of the opening ceremony. Through learning more about a real case of heritage revitalisation, the public can gain a better understanding of building safety and maintenance .
The urban sketching workshop held on the day of the opening ceremony has attracted quite a number of parents to participate with their children..
The urban sketching workshop held on the day of the opening ceremony has attracted quite a number of parents to participate with their children.
Pictured is the “Building Safety 360”, one of the activities held at the opening ceremony..
Pictured is the “Building Safety 360”, one of the activities held at the opening ceremony.
Some 500 friends who are members of the construction industry, building management sector and academia, as well as government colleagues, have attended the Building Safety Symposium 2019. Pictured are speakers participating in one of the focus sessions..
Some 500 friends who are members of the construction industry, building management sector and academia, as well as government colleagues, have attended the Building Safety Symposium 2019. Pictured are speakers participating in one of the focus sessions.

7 July, 2019

Back.

跳至內容

活在當廈 樂在當廈

香港是一個高密度城市,樓宇狀況的好壞,與市民的參與密不可分。我曾到訪屋宇署,了解部門的服務和工作,聽取同事介紹如何透過不同途徑,把樓宇安全信息帶給市民,其中,一年一度的「樓宇安全周」,為屋宇署的重點公眾教育及宣傳活動。「樓宇安全周2019」已於5月圓滿結束,透過連串多元化活動,讓社會大眾和建築業界進一步認識樓宇安全的重要,共建愛護樓宇文化。

轉眼間,「樓宇安全周」已踏入第5年,今年以「活在當廈」為主題,既反映香港人無論日常起居、工作,以至休閒活動都是在樓宇內進行,亦提醒我們身為樓宇的用家或業主,有責任留意大廈的維修、保養及管理情況,以確保「活在當廈」之餘,亦能「樂在當廈」。

正視樓宇安全風險

今年「樓宇安全周」的開幕禮在「大館」舉行。「大館」前身為有百年歷史的中區警署建築群,正好說明建築物如得到妥善保養及適時修葺,可為一代又一代使用。現時,全港有4萬多幢私人樓宇,當中一半以上的樓齡超過30年。要提升樓宇安全,除靠屋宇署同事執法外,更重要的是市民能正視樓宇安全風險,並採取行動及時保養樓宇。

多元活動傳遞信息

今年的「樓宇安全周」,屋宇署特意將樓宇安全信息融入各式活動中,務求可接觸更多不同層面的市民。開幕禮當天的節目包括「我繪我城」城市速畫工作坊和「專行大館」導賞,透過繪畫和了解活化古蹟實例,加深市民對樓宇安全及保養的認識。其他重點節目包括公開講座、樓宇資訊中心開放日、註冊檢驗人員交流會,連續多年舉辦的中學生話劇比賽,以及首次舉辦的明信片設計比賽。

探討善用先進技術

「樓宇安全研討會2019」是「樓宇安全周」的壓軸活動,一如往年,約500名來自建築業界、樓宇管理業和學術界的朋友以及政府同事出席。今年研討會的主題是「樓宇安全新方向」,不少講題均與新科技應用有關,例如研究使用人工智能及機械人於樓宇建造之中、利用無人機檢測樓宇狀況、探討最新的防風玻璃幕牆研究成果等。科技不斷進步,為建築業界帶來不少機遇,政府作為監管者亦不會怠慢,會制訂有關措施以鼓勵業界多利用新科技,提升建造效率及建築物安全。

提高業主維修物業意識

屋宇署多年來的宣傳工作,重點推廣私人業主為其物業進行定期及妥善維修的重要性。近年,政府推行多項計劃,以提高樓宇業主對物業的維修意識,例如我們伙同市區重建局(市建局)在2018年推出「樓宇更新大行動2.0」,以風險為本,聚焦協助樓齡50年或以上、平均應課差餉租值較低的住宅及綜合用途樓宇,向有需要的業主提供直接技術及財政支援,以助他們遵辦強制驗樓計劃的規定。我們期望計劃可在5年間惠及2 500幢舊樓。

政府亦一直與各伙伴機構,如市建局及香港房屋協會緊密合作,提供多項支援,協助業主進行樓宇維修工作,例如「樓宇維修綜合支援計劃」、「長者維修自住物業津貼計劃」、「樓宇安全貸款計劃」等。政府會繼續提倡樓宇安全文化,推動公眾自發改善樓宇狀況。讓大家攜手協力,令香港成為一個安全、宜居而充滿活力的城市。

用心聆聽 加強溝通

我也希望在此一提,行政長官在特區成立22周年酒會上表示,會確保政府日後工作更貼近民心民情民意,透過不同途徑加強與不同人士溝通,吸納社會的意見,持續改善政府施政。

香港是一個多元化的社會,我們明白修補關係非一朝一夕能做到的。政府會秉持最謙卑的心、最誠懇的態度,汲取經驗,用心聆聽各方意見。盼望同屬香港人的我們,可以一起衝破重重難關,跨越矛盾紛爭,並肩同行,重新出發。

 
請按上圖觀看影片
在今次的《局長隨筆》,黃偉綸局長介紹屋宇署的樓宇安全推廣工作。.
在今次的《局長隨筆》,黃偉綸局長介紹屋宇署的樓宇安全推廣工作。
黃偉綸局長(右)到訪屋宇署,聽取該署副署長余德祥(左)介紹部門的服務和工作,包括如何透過不同途徑,推廣樓宇安全。(資料圖片).
黃偉綸局長(右)到訪屋宇署,聽取該署副署長余德祥(左)介紹部門的服務和工作,包括如何透過不同途徑,推廣樓宇安全。(資料圖片)
發展局常任秘書長(規劃及地政)甯漢豪為屋宇署舉辦的「樓宇安全周2019」主持開幕禮。今年的「樓宇安全周」以「活在當廈」為主題,提醒樓宇的用家或業主,有責任留意大廈的維修、保養及管理情況,以確保「活在當廈」之餘,亦能「樂在當廈」。.
發展局常任秘書長(規劃及地政)甯漢豪為屋宇署舉辦的「樓宇安全周2019」主持開幕禮。今年的「樓宇安全周」以「活在當廈」為主題,提醒樓宇的用家或業主,有責任留意大廈的維修、保養及管理情況,以確保「活在當廈」之餘,亦能「樂在當廈」。
發展局副局長廖振新在「樓宇安全研討會」上表示,近年,政府推行多項計劃,以提高樓宇業主對物業的維修意識,如在2018年推出「樓宇更新大行動2.0」。.
發展局副局長廖振新在「樓宇安全研討會」上表示,近年,政府推行多項計劃,以提高樓宇業主對物業的維修意識,如在2018年推出「樓宇更新大行動2.0」。
在「樓宇安全研討會」上,屋宇署署長張天祥表示,政府會制訂措施,鼓勵建築業界多利用新科技,提升建造效率及建築物安全。.
在「樓宇安全研討會」上,屋宇署署長張天祥表示,政府會制訂措施,鼓勵建築業界多利用新科技,提升建造效率及建築物安全。
今年的「樓宇安全周」,屋宇署特意將樓宇安全信息融入各式活動中,務求可接觸更多不同層面的市民。圖示發展局常任秘書長(規劃及地政)甯漢豪(中)、屋宇署署長張天祥(左四)和其他嘉賓出席開幕禮。.
今年的「樓宇安全周」,屋宇署特意將樓宇安全信息融入各式活動中,務求可接觸更多不同層面的市民。圖示發展局常任秘書長(規劃及地政)甯漢豪(中)、屋宇署署長張天祥(左四)和其他嘉賓出席開幕禮。
圖為「樓宇安全學生大使計劃」舊曲新詞MV創作比賽的得獎者,在「樓宇安全周2019」開幕禮上演繹其得獎作品。.
圖為「樓宇安全學生大使計劃」舊曲新詞MV創作比賽的得獎者,在「樓宇安全周2019」開幕禮上演繹其得獎作品。
圖示開幕禮當天舉辦的「專講大館」導賞,透過了解活化古蹟實例,加深市民對樓宇安全及保養的認識。.
圖示開幕禮當天舉辦的「專講大館」導賞,透過了解活化古蹟實例,加深市民對樓宇安全及保養的認識。
開幕禮當天的「我繪我城」城市速畫工作坊,吸引不少家長帶同子女參加。.
開幕禮當天的「我繪我城」城市速畫工作坊,吸引不少家長帶同子女參加。
圖中為開幕禮其中一項活動─「樓轉AR」。.
圖中為開幕禮其中一項活動─「樓轉AR」。
約500名來自建築業界、樓宇管理業和學術界的朋友以及政府同事出席「樓宇安全研討會2019」。圖示講者參與其中一場專題討論。.
約500名來自建築業界、樓宇管理業和學術界的朋友以及政府同事出席「樓宇安全研討會2019」。圖示講者參與其中一場專題討論。

2019年7月7日

返回.