Jump to the beginning of content

Haw Par Mansion turned into music school

After revitalisation, the 83-year-old Haw Par Mansion has been open for public visit since April this year. As one of the projects under Batch III of the Revitalising Historic Buildings Through Partnership Scheme (Revitalisation Scheme), the Haw Par Mansion has now been revitalised into a music school called “Haw Par Music Farm”. Earlier, during my district visit, I made a point of visiting the place and had a chat with the former owner of Haw Par Mansion and founder of the Aw Boon Haw Foundation, Ms AW Sian, Sally. Aw Boon Haw Foundation is the operator of Haw Par Music Farm. In addition, I have invited the Executive Director, Project Development of Haw Par Music Farm, Mr Roger WU, to introduce to us the mansion that combines Chinese and Western architectural styles.

Situated at No. 15A Tai Hang Road, the Haw Par Mansion mainly comprises a four-storey residential mansion and a private garden. It was built by overseas Chinese tycoon, Mr AW Boon-haw, for the AW family in 1936 and named after him and his brother, Mr AW Boon-par. The mansion with its private garden was handed over to the Government in 2001 and was accorded as a Grade 1 historic building in 2009. After that, it was revitalised into the Haw Par Music Farm by the Aw Boon Haw Foundation to provide Chinese and Western music training and community outreach activities to promote music culture.

Revitalisation into a cultural landmark

On the day of the visit, I was pleased to see Ms Sally AW and thanked her for the revitalisation of the Haw Par Mansion into a cultural landmark and its opening to the public with the provision of guided tours. Ms AW said that she had lived in the mansion until the 1990s. The distinctive east-meets-west architectural style can be found in the design of the mansion and the garden. Some of the interior decorations are full of Southeast Asian influence. For example, the wall reliefs were shipped from Nanyang for installation on site.

Back to the style of the 1930s

According to the Executive Director, Project Development of Haw Par Music Farm, Mr Roger WU, during the restoration process, the internal layout of the mansion was kept intact, while its external walls, doors, some of the windows and the main building’s interior decorations were restored to their former 1930s look. Some of the rooms have now been transformed into classrooms and practice rooms with acoustic insulation. The sitting room is spacious enough to host a mini-concert for 50 to 60 people, and other areas are good for chamber music performance. The original furniture in the sitting room has been retained to give the public the ambience of the mansion at that time.

Chinese Eclectic architectural style

According to Mr Roger WU, the mansion and the garden are of Chinese Eclectic architectural style between 1920s and 1930s, i.e. adopting Western architectural design approach in their concept and layout, along with decorations of traditional Chinese architectural features, such as the Chinese-style flying eaves used as wall decorations at the sitting room, which are painted with JIANG Taigong fishing and Eight Immortals crossing the sea; and the traditional Chinese moon gates at the entrance on the northwest and southeast elevations of the sitting room. There are also decorations from different countries in the mansion, such as the magnificent stained glass windows and doors from Italy, carvings and mouldings gilded with gold, as well as sculptures and decorative silhouettes showing Indian and Burmese influence. The garden was designed with the layout and features of a French garden blended with Chinese elements.

Guided tours for the public

During the visit, I appreciated the great efforts made by the project team during the renovation process to retain the Haw Par Mansion’s original look in its entirety. For example, there are 120 Italian stained glass panels in the mansion, of which the 20 most beautiful and biggest ones took about four months to restore. In addition, the main entrance hall and sitting room are adapted as an interpretation area to showcase the AW family’s history and the architectural background of the Haw Par Mansion, as well as the details of the restoration and revitalisation of this historic building.

Currently, the sitting room, garden and main entrance hall of the Haw Par Mansion are open to the public during office hours daily. Members of the public can also join the guided tours to visit different parts of the mansion, including the master room, Buddhist temple on the roof terrace, en suite bathroom, huge safe, fireplaces, as well as the magnificent decorations and the ornaments from the Tiger Balm Garden. To join the guided tours, the public can register online in advance.

Pulling together with one heart

The Revitalisation Scheme was launched by the Development Bureau in 2008 in partnership with non-profit-making organisations to preserve, revitalise and put government-owned historic buildings into good use. So far, five batches involving a total of 19 projects have been rolled out. Our work in promoting the conservation and revitalisation of historic buildings will not stop. Through our continuous efforts in the adaptive re-use of built heritage in a creative way, we hope to give old buildings a new lease of life and allow the public to appreciate and make good use of them.

During the revitalisation process, we wish to retain the authenticity of the historic buildings, in the same way that the hardworking spirit of Hong Kong people has been passed on from generation to generation. By the way, I attended an industry gathering a few days ago and discussed the recent controversies and disputes in society with industry practitioners. I pointed out that the Chief Executive had offered a sincere apology to the public for the deficiencies in the Government’s work, while the political team had on different occasions admitted that there was room for improvement. We promised to work doubly harder to mend the rift with different sectors of the community and rise to Hong Kong’s numerous challenges on economic and livelihood issues in the future. Many industry practitioners later told me that they clearly heard the Government’s apology, and agreed that we all should put aside differences and move forward together again.

I strongly believe that we will pull together for this city to build a better future for Hong Kong.

 
Please click on the image above to watch the video.
During his visit to the Haw Par Music Farm, revitalised from the Haw Par Mansion, the Secretary for Development (SDEV), Mr WONG Wai-lun, Michael (right), meets and chats with the former owner of the mansion and founder of the Aw Boon Haw Foundation, Ms AW Sian, Sally (left)..
During his visit to the Haw Par Music Farm, revitalised from the Haw Par Mansion, the Secretary for Development (SDEV), Mr WONG Wai-lun, Michael (right), meets and chats with the former owner of the mansion and founder of the Aw Boon Haw Foundation, Ms AW Sian, Sally (left).
The SDEV, Mr Michael WONG, is briefed by the Executive Director, Project Development of the Haw Par Music Farm, Mr Roger WU, on details of the restoration and revitalisation of the Haw Par Mansion..
The SDEV, Mr Michael WONG, is briefed by the Executive Director, Project Development of the Haw Par Music Farm, Mr Roger WU, on details of the restoration and revitalisation of the Haw Par Mansion..
The SDEV, Mr Michael WONG, is briefed by the Executive Director, Project Development of the Haw Par Music Farm, Mr Roger WU, on details of the restoration and revitalisation of the Haw Par Mansion.
According to the Executive Director, Project Development of the Haw Par Music Farm, Mr Roger WU, the Haw Par Mansion is of Chinese Eclectic architectural style between 1920s and 1930s, adopting Western architectural design approach in its concept and layout, along with decorations of traditional Chinese architectural features, such as the moon gates behind him that are rich in traditional Chinese characteristics..
According to the Executive Director, Project Development of the Haw Par Music Farm, Mr Roger WU, the Haw Par Mansion is of Chinese Eclectic architectural style between 1920s and 1930s, adopting Western architectural design approach in its concept and layout, along with decorations of traditional Chinese architectural features, such as the moon gates behind him that are rich in traditional Chinese characteristics.
There are Chinese-style flying eaves as wall decorations above the staircase and the doorway at the sitting room..
There are Chinese-style flying eaves as wall decorations above the staircase and the doorway at the sitting room.
The flying eave shown here is painted with JIANG Taigong fishing..
The flying eave shown here is painted with JIANG Taigong fishing.
There are 120 Italian stained glass panels in the mansion, of which the 20 most beautiful and biggest ones took about four months to restore..
There are 120 Italian stained glass panels in the mansion, of which the 20 most beautiful and biggest ones took about four months to restore..
There are 120 Italian stained glass panels in the mansion, of which the 20 most beautiful and biggest ones took about four months to restore.
One of the suites has become a lift lobby in the mansion with its fireplace and wooden decorations retained..
One of the suites has become a lift lobby in the mansion with its fireplace and wooden decorations retained.
The bathroom at the master room built in the 1930s has also been retained..
The bathroom at the master room built in the 1930s has also been retained.
The SDEV, Mr Michael WONG, went to see the Haw Par Music Farm during his visit to Wan Chai District. Mr Michael WONG (third right) is pictured with the Vice-chairman of the Wan Chai District Council, Dr CHOW Kit-bing, Jennifer (fourth right); the District Officer (Wan Chai), Mr CHAN Tin-chu, Rick (second right); the Commissioner for Heritage, Mr YAM Ho-san, José (first left); the Political Assistant to the SDEV, Mr FUNG Ying-lun, Allen (first right); the Executive Director, Project Development of the Haw Par Music Farm, Mr Roger WU (second left); and the Executive Director of Programming of the Haw Par Music Farm, Ms Sheryl Lee (third left)..
The SDEV, Mr Michael WONG, went to see the Haw Par Music Farm during his visit to Wan Chai District. Mr Michael WONG (third right) is pictured with the Vice-chairman of the Wan Chai District Council, Dr CHOW Kit-bing, Jennifer (fourth right); the District Officer (Wan Chai), Mr CHAN Tin-chu, Rick (second right); the Commissioner for Heritage, Mr YAM Ho-san, José (first left); the Political Assistant to the SDEV, Mr FUNG Ying-lun, Allen (first right); the Executive Director, Project Development of the Haw Par Music Farm, Mr Roger WU (second left); and the Executive Director of Programming of the Haw Par Music Farm, Ms Sheryl Lee (third left).
The Haw Par Music Farm provides Chinese and Western music training and community outreach activities to promote music culture..
The Haw Par Music Farm provides Chinese and Western music training and community outreach activities to promote music culture..
The Haw Par Music Farm provides Chinese and Western music training and community outreach activities to promote music culture..
The Haw Par Music Farm provides Chinese and Western music training and community outreach activities to promote music culture.
The Haw Par Mansion mainly comprises a four-storey residential mansion and a private garden. It was built by Mr AW Boon-haw for the AW family in 1936 and named after him and his brother, Mr AW Boon-par..
The Haw Par Mansion mainly comprises a four-storey residential mansion and a private garden. It was built by Mr AW Boon-haw for the AW family in 1936 and named after him and his brother, Mr AW Boon-par.

23 June, 2019

Back.

跳至內容

虎豹別墅變身音樂學院

有83年歷史的「虎豹別墅」經活化後,今年4月開放予公眾參觀。虎豹別墅是第三期「活化歷史建築伙伴計劃」項目之一,現已活化成「虎豹樂圃」音樂學院。早前,我落區時特地前往參觀,並與虎豹別墅前業主及營運虎豹樂圃的胡文虎慈善基金創辦人胡仙女士見面傾談。我亦邀請了虎豹樂圃執行董事(項目發展)胡燦森,為大家介紹這座集中西建築風格的大宅。

虎豹別墅位於大坑道15號A,主要由一幢樓高四層的大宅和私人花園組成,是華僑商人胡文虎先生於1936年為其胡氏家族興建,並以胡文虎、胡文豹兄弟二人的名字命名。別墅連私人花園於2001年交予政府,2009年評為一級歷史建築,其後由胡文虎慈善基金活化為虎豹樂圃,提供中樂及西樂訓練,並舉辦社區外展活動,推廣音樂文化。

活化成文化地標

參觀當日,我很高興和胡仙女士見面,感謝她把虎豹別墅活化成文化地標,開放並設導賞團予公眾參觀。胡仙女士指,曾在大宅居住,直至90年代。別墅及花園的設計糅合中西建築風格,別具特色。部分內部裝飾充滿東南亞色彩,例如牆上的浮雕就是從南洋運過來裝設的。

回復30年代面貌

虎豹樂圃執行董事(項目發展)胡燦森介紹說,在修復過程中,保存大宅的內部佈局,別墅的外牆、門、部分窗戶及主樓的室內裝潢,修復至其30年代的面貌。部分房間現改裝成有隔音設備的課室和練習室。大廳空間較大,可舉辦50至60人的小型演奏會,其他空間可用作室樂表演。大廳保留原有的家具,讓人感受大宅當時的氛圍。

中式折衷主義建築風格

胡燦森說,別墅和花園均採用上世紀20至30年代的中式折衷主義建築風格,即構思和佈局採用西式建築方法,並以傳統中國建築特色作裝飾,例如大廳內以中式飛檐作壁飾,上面亦繪有姜太公釣魚及八仙過海的圖畫;大廳西北及東南兩面的出入口,則用了傳統中國特色的月洞門設計。別墅亦有來自不同國家的裝飾物,如華美的意大利彩色玻璃門窗、鍍金雕刻和模塑,以及充滿印度和緬甸色彩的雕刻和裝飾線條。花園的設計呈法式花園佈局和特色,但兼具中國元素。

設導賞團讓公眾參觀

參觀期間,我了解到活化項目團隊在復修過程中付出不少努力,以期把虎豹別墅昔日的面貌,原汁原味地保留下來,例如大宅有120塊意大利彩繪玻璃,復修其中20塊最美、最大的便花了約4個月時間。另外,入口大堂和大廳特別闢作詮釋區,展示胡氏家族的歷史、虎豹別墅的建築背景,並介紹復修和活化這幢歷史建築的工作。

現時,虎豹別墅的大廳、花園和入口大堂每日於辦公時間內開放給公眾參觀。市民亦可參加導賞團,參觀大宅各部分,包括主人房、頂樓佛堂、套房浴室、巨型夾萬、壁爐,並可欣賞美輪美奐的裝潢、萬金油花園留下的擺設等。市民如欲參加導賞團,可預先網上報名

同心竭力推展工作

發展局於2008年推出「活化歷史建築伙伴計劃」,夥拍非牟利機構,保存、活化、善用政府擁有的歷史建築,至今已推出5期共19個項目。我們推動保育和活化歷史建築的步伐不會停下來,期望繼續透過具創意的活化再用計劃,為舊建築注入新生命,同時讓市民有機會親身觀賞和使用。

在活化過程中,我們希望把歷史建築原汁原味保留下來,就像香港人的奮鬥精神,一代一代承傳下去。藉此一提,我幾天前出席了一個業界聚會,席間與業界討論近日社會上的一些矛盾及紛爭。我指出行政長官已就政府工作的不足向市民真誠致歉,問責團隊亦在不同場合坦承有改進的空間,並承諾會加倍努力,與社會各界一起修補裂痕,和面對香港未來在民生及經濟等方面的大量挑戰。不少業界朋友其後向我表示,他們理解政府的責任和難處,並認同大家應放下歧見,一起重新出發。

我深信大家會為這個城市共同努力,讓香港有更美好的明天。

 
請按上圖觀看影片
黃偉綸局長(右)在參觀由虎豹別墅活化而成的虎豹樂圃期間,與別墅前業主及胡文虎慈善基金創辦人胡仙女士(左)見面傾談。.
黃偉綸局長(右)在參觀由虎豹別墅活化而成的虎豹樂圃期間,與別墅前業主及胡文虎慈善基金創辦人胡仙女士(左)見面傾談。
黃偉綸局長聽取虎豹樂圃執行董事(項目發展)胡燦森介紹虎豹別墅的修復和活化工作。.
黃偉綸局長聽取虎豹樂圃執行董事(項目發展)胡燦森介紹虎豹別墅的修復和活化工作。.
黃偉綸局長聽取虎豹樂圃執行董事(項目發展)胡燦森介紹虎豹別墅的修復和活化工作。
虎豹樂圃執行董事(項目發展)胡燦森表示,虎豹別墅採用上世紀20至30年代的中式折衷主義建築風格,構思和佈局均採用西式建築方法,並以傳統中國建築特色作裝飾,例如大宅採用了他身後富傳統中國特色的月洞門設計。.
虎豹樂圃執行董事(項目發展)胡燦森表示,虎豹別墅採用上世紀20至30年代的中式折衷主義建築風格,構思和佈局均採用西式建築方法,並以傳統中國建築特色作裝飾,例如大宅採用了他身後富傳統中國特色的月洞門設計。
大廳內的樓梯和門口上方以中式飛檐作壁飾。.
大廳內的樓梯和門口上方以中式飛檐作壁飾。
圖中的飛檐繪有姜太公釣魚的圖畫。.
圖中的飛檐繪有姜太公釣魚的圖畫。
大宅內有120塊來自意大利的彩繪玻璃,復修其中20塊最美和最大的已花約4個月的時間。
大宅內有120塊來自意大利的彩繪玻璃,復修其中20塊最美和最大的已花約4個月的時間。
大宅內有120塊來自意大利的彩繪玻璃,復修其中20塊最美、最大的便花了約4個月時間。
大宅內其中一間套房現已變成升降機大堂,其壁爐和木製裝飾均保留下來。.
大宅內其中一間套房現已變成升降機大堂,其壁爐和木製裝飾均保留下來。
建於30年代的主人房浴室亦保留下來。.
建於30年代的主人房浴室亦保留下來。
黃偉綸局長到訪灣仔區期間,參觀虎豹樂圃。圖示黃偉綸局長(右三)與灣仔區議會副主席周潔冰博士(右四)、灣仔民政事務專員陳天柱(右二)、文物保育專員任浩晨(左一)、發展局局長政治助理馮英倫(右一)、虎豹樂圃執行董事(項目發展)胡燦森(左二)、虎豹樂圃執行董事(樂圃策劃)李明哲(左三)等合照。.
黃偉綸局長到訪灣仔區期間,參觀虎豹樂圃。圖示黃偉綸局長(右三)與灣仔區議會副主席周潔冰博士(右四)、灣仔民政事務專員陳天柱(右二)、文物保育專員任浩晨(左一)、發展局局長政治助理馮英倫(右一)、虎豹樂圃執行董事(項目發展)胡燦森(左二)、虎豹樂圃執行董事(樂圃策劃)李明哲(左三)等合照。
虎豹樂圃提供中樂和西樂訓練,並舉辦社區外展活動,推廣音樂文化。.
虎豹樂圃提供中樂和西樂訓練,並舉辦社區外展活動,推廣音樂文化。.
虎豹樂圃提供中樂和西樂訓練,並舉辦社區外展活動,推廣音樂文化。.
虎豹樂圃提供中樂和西樂訓練,並舉辦社區外展活動,推廣音樂文化。
虎豹別墅主要由一幢樓高四層的大宅和私人花園組成,是胡文虎先生於1936年為其胡氏家族興建,並以胡文虎、胡文豹兄弟二人的名字命名。.
虎豹別墅主要由一幢樓高四層的大宅和私人花園組成,是胡文虎先生於1936年為其胡氏家族興建,並以胡文虎、胡文豹兄弟二人的名字命名。

2019年6月23日

返回.